We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is great and the proprietor was a wonderful help. We stayed 2 nights in May. Large, very comfortable room. Great facility and location. Simple but very good breakfast. We got some absolutely wonderful recommendations of where to go and what to do in the Hilo area from Steve. Don't miss the snorkeling down south of Hilo in the lave field tidal pools and the farmers market on the way there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our stay at Orchid Tree was wonderful, too bad it wasn't longer! Steve knows how to start the day off right. I truly appreciated the different fresh fruits that he introduced us to, and I love that he grows many of them in the beautiful yard. His cooking/baking was fantastic too. We took advantage of his local experience and learned a lot about the area, and that helped us enjoy our stay. Hilo is definitely worth the visit when you get to the Big Island and everything everyone has raved about the Orchid Tree B&B is true!!! Thanks Steve!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent a couple nights at Orchid Tree and then a couple nights in Volcano and then a couple nights at Volcano House.
We were spoiled by the people at Orchid Tree. What an amazing breakfast and how wonderful the attention to our needs.
We have to watch our budget and we felt like we got our money's worth at Orchid Tree. On the other hand, we felt as if we were financially hurt by the service, food and experience at The Volcano House.
Anyway, if you want to visit the volcano this is my suggested place to stay in Hilo. The views, the setting, the people (Sue & Steven) made the time here memorable.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dandaman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are in the midst of our 6 nights in Hilo, having already spent 6 nights on the West coast. Steve and Sue have created a lovely oasis that we are enjoying to the utmost.

The 3 of us have 1 of their 2 suites and its spaciousness and comfort is unsurpassed. Our son commented that it's the best B&B we've ever stayed.

Our studio has a walkin closet, a small fridge, sofas, a coffee and tea maker with assorted teas and coffee. The windows and ceiling fans provide a refreshing breeze although there is a/c if you choose.

Outside the door is a lanai where fresh fruit and breakfast treats await every morning and breakfast is included. A solar hot tub and a sparkling clean kidney shaped pool are just a few steps away. The lush vegetation, flowers, and view of the ocean is wonderful and the sounds of the coquis complete the experience.

The B&B is a few minutes out of town and we like the quiet retreat here. It's still close enough to quickly get to restaurants and the waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliFromBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first visit to the Big Island and we could not be happier with our choice of 3 nights at this lovely property. We had a view of the sea from the window of our large room and I watched the sun rise each day. The large shower was luxurious and the layout of the room was terrific. Very comfortable in all respects. Our breakfasts were fabulous, served on the lovely lanai, and presented artfully by Steve each morning to the sound of birds in the lush garden. Our host was extremely helpful and kindly mapped out our route(s) for us each day. I would definitely recommend this delightful b&b if you want to experience life as the locals do. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM4339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and absolutely loved it. Great Location, beautifully decorated large room and comfy beds and pillows. Breakfasts were sumptious tropical affairs taken looking out over the pool and sea. Steve has lived here for a number of years and his laid back generous nature really added to the experience. If you are going to Hawaii go to the big Island and stay here. It makes an ideal base to go and see the volcano fields, Mauna Kea and just to drive around the island. Sue brought in a Chameleon she saved from being run over and the kids loved it. He's now named Eric and eating his fill of insects. Dont expect sandy beaches on the East side of the Island but be awed by the volcanic fields and lava down south. As my mate would say... Unbelievable

Room Tip: Either room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flameon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the Orchid B&B for 3 days as part of our honeymoon. The place was absolutely lovely - huge nicely decorated rooms (there are only two guest rooms), big veranda with a hot tub and a swimming pool, tropical garden. It combined the atmosphere of a lush tropical exuberance with an intimate and friendly feel. Our host, Steve, was very welcoming and attentive. His breakfast of fresh exotic fruits and pastries is unbeatable! Sometimes we had breakfast at the same time as the other guest couple, so it was a nice occasion to get to know new people and share some insights about Hawaii.
The room had some books and board games that we perused, as well as a TV (which we happily ignored). The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. One must note that this area of the Big Island had recently been infested with tiny coqui frogs (originally from Puerto Rico), which are known for their loud squawking. If you're sensitive to noise at night, this will be a problem.
The location was fairly convenient, just a 5-10 min drive from Downtown Hilo. There's not too much to do near the B&B itself, except to walk to a small beach below. It is not good for swimming, but attracts surfers.
Overall, we were very happy with the experience, and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxbel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
2.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6 Makakai Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $199 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid tree B&B is located one mile north of historic Old Hilo Town at Honolii Beach. Enjoy the comfort of a 600 sq/ft suite overlooking the ocean, pool and lush gardens; very private and elegant. Located within minutes of all the activities in East Hawaii: 45 minutes to Volcano National Park. Enjoy surfing, hiking, excellent dining, shops and the famous Hilo Farmer's Market. With 40 years experience on the Big Island, let us show you the way to an authentic and memorable Hawaiian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Hilo
Orchid Tree b&b
Orchid Tree Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing