We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Living” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Easy Living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent....The garden and pool area were picture perfect...Breakfast was so well presented that my wife had to take a picture..The bedroom was very spacious and clean....I would recommend this B&B to a friend or relative...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazebo8528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
171
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed 5 nights with Steve and Su and felt very welcome immediately. The room was spacious, clean and beautiful. It's far more than a B&B stay over its like staying with friends or family. Nothing's too much trouble and Steve helpful advise and knowledge of Hilo and the island made a big difference. Breakfast was good and plenty of coffee kick started us for the day. Another thing that made the stay so good was the fact we were welcome to just hang out by the pool and simple relax at Steve and Su's home. Would not hesitate in recommending to anyone, we have stayed in various B&B's and hotels in Hawaii and the Orchid is by far the best. Do not waste time looking for anything else........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rurobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Ideal spot to enjoy the many activies and sites on the Big Island. Would definitely return and recommend. Couldn't ask for better host. Steve makes amazing smoothies! Lots of knowledge about the island. Easy walk to a lovely beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDL106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Absolutely charming huge rooms, ours with a private balcony overlooking a frog croaking small pond. Lots of privacy. Hottub. Outside of town, so you need a car to go to the restaurants. Near a surfing beach for those interested ( the owner is a surfer) . Steve made the breakfast and although the fruit plate was a work of art, the breads and cakes were not homemade. ( Steve: a secret for waffles: half milk half carbonated water or beer) .
Steve was very helpful with all the info need we were seeking (restaurant) but one felt more as transient guests (no surprise there !) than friends.
Beware of Hilo's rain !

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms. One has a small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ondine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Orchid Tree was the best part of our trip to the Big Island, although we stayed there only a brief 2 nights. Our group of 6 (including 2 babies) took over the whole place and were made entirely welcome and comfortable by Steve our host. Both suites are spacious, comfy, elegantly appointed, and squeaky clean. The open patio area is a wonderful space to relax, have a light meal, read a book, take a dip in the pool, or soak up the ocean view. And Steve's breakfasts are spectacular! Giant waffles for everyone, plus elaborate fruit platter, granola, yogurt, juice, coffee, you name it. Our first morning we had an early commitment so that we weren't going to get the nice breakfast, but we still found hot coffee, juice, fruit, and a loaf of banana bread laid out extra early so we didn't go hungry. Really could not have asked for a better experience.

The only negative (and this is specific to guests with young children) is the close proximity of the pool to the suites and patio. Without any barrier around the pool, a little one could sneak out a door and be in the deep end in about 10 seconds flat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the first week of my surprise honeymoon and what a nice surprise this place is. The rooms are huge and wonderfully decorated. Homey but classy. The breakfast is fantastic and the owner who makes the breakfast is a great cook and a wonderful host. We would definately stay here again as well as recommend this place to others. We loved this place. The owner helped us plan our daily travels and we felt like we were visiting family and friends.
I can't wait to return and hope we can stay here again. A wonderful place right outside of Hilo in an upscale neighborhood overlooking the ocean and all the surfers. Love it love it and love the fruit tray with our breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: there are two rooms and both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this! Beautiful spacious suite with access to a large private lanai with pool, a hot tub and gorgeous gardens. It's in a great location. It's located virtually on the beach and a short ride to fabulous downtown dining. The private ensuite bathroom is clean and nice. The room is not 5 star, but really clean and super comfortable; and it was the best value we could find almost anywhere in Hawaii!

Location is near perfect! There are great restaurants nearby and the best surfing in Hilo on your doorstep. You can hear the large surf waves clearly crashing constantly and it's extra magical at night! We ate at Cafe Pesto, and my husband is still yammering on about how good his steak was.

The Coqui frogs also sang quite a symphony! These frogs can really sing. Native to Puerto Rico, this invasive species is disconcerting to some. You could close the windows and turn on the air conditioner and listen to the white noise instead...?, but why bother? You get used to it... and I actually liked the sound of these singing phibs.

READ THE BLUE BOOK ON THE SECOND SHELF FOR THE SECRET SPOTS! Best advice I can give you if you stay there is to read the tattered light blue guidebook on the second shelf of the library area. Steve will point it out to you if you stay there, but make sure you flip through it. It's jam packed with the deep, secret, hidden things many Hawaiians don't even know about!

Read the blue book. Seriously, your vacation will be better for it because it has all the info you need to help you get what you want out of your time here. We found elusive waterfalls and magical geo-thermal snorkelling tide pools... Awesome! One of biggest highlights of our entire trip in Hawaii was snorkelling in the tide pools off Hwy 137, which we only found in this book.

A big part of the reason we enjoyed our stay here so much was the awesome information and helpfulness Steve and Su gave us. They quickly helped us sort out our bucket list and were genuinely keen for us to have a great time in Hilo. They saved us a ton of time and really helped us get the most out of our short 3 day visit. All in all, most excellent! We stayed here Jan 11-13, 2013.

Mahalo :)

Room Tip: Read the blue book on the second shelf for the secret spots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
23.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Makakai Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid tree B&B is located one mile north of historic Old Hilo Town at Honolii Beach. Enjoy the comfort of a 600 sq/ft suite overlooking the ocean, pool and lush gardens; very private and elegant. Located within minutes of all the activities in East Hawaii: 45 minutes to Volcano National Park. Enjoy surfing, hiking, excellent dining, shops and the famous Hilo Farmer's Market. With 35 years experience on the Big Island, let us show you the way to an authentic and memorable Hawaiian experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Hilo
Orchid Tree b&b
Orchid Tree Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing