We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A beautiful beginning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful beginning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the first week of my surprise honeymoon and what a nice surprise this place is. The rooms are huge and wonderfully decorated. Homey but classy. The breakfast is fantastic and the owner who makes the breakfast is a great cook and a wonderful host. We would definately stay here again as well as recommend this place to others. We loved this place. The owner helped us plan our daily travels and we felt like we were visiting family and friends.
I can't wait to return and hope we can stay here again. A wonderful place right outside of Hilo in an upscale neighborhood overlooking the ocean and all the surfers. Love it love it and love the fruit tray with our breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: there are two rooms and both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
167
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this! Beautiful spacious suite with access to a large private lanai with pool, a hot tub and gorgeous gardens. It's in a great location. It's located virtually on the beach and a short ride to fabulous downtown dining. The private ensuite bathroom is clean and nice. The room is not 5 star, but really clean and super comfortable; and it was the best value we could find almost anywhere in Hawaii!

Location is near perfect! There are great restaurants nearby and the best surfing in Hilo on your doorstep. You can hear the large surf waves clearly crashing constantly and it's extra magical at night! We ate at Cafe Pesto, and my husband is still yammering on about how good his steak was.

The Coqui frogs also sang quite a symphony! These frogs can really sing. Native to Puerto Rico, this invasive species is disconcerting to some. You could close the windows and turn on the air conditioner and listen to the white noise instead...?, but why bother? You get used to it... and I actually liked the sound of these singing phibs.

READ THE BLUE BOOK ON THE SECOND SHELF FOR THE SECRET SPOTS! Best advice I can give you if you stay there is to read the tattered light blue guidebook on the second shelf of the library area. Steve will point it out to you if you stay there, but make sure you flip through it. It's jam packed with the deep, secret, hidden things many Hawaiians don't even know about!

Read the blue book. Seriously, your vacation will be better for it because it has all the info you need to help you get what you want out of your time here. We found elusive waterfalls and magical geo-thermal snorkelling tide pools... Awesome! One of biggest highlights of our entire trip in Hawaii was snorkelling in the tide pools off Hwy 137, which we only found in this book.

A big part of the reason we enjoyed our stay here so much was the awesome information and helpfulness Steve and Su gave us. They quickly helped us sort out our bucket list and were genuinely keen for us to have a great time in Hilo. They saved us a ton of time and really helped us get the most out of our short 3 day visit. All in all, most excellent! We stayed here Jan 11-13, 2013.

Mahalo :)

Room Tip: Read the blue book on the second shelf for the secret spots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was our first visit to Hilo. We arrived very tired after a long flight from the East Coast, but our gracious host Steve instantly made us feel right at home. We stayed two nights in the Koi Suite, which was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was an absolute joy, consisting of beautifully-presented fresh local fruits and breads. The pool and the grounds were quiet and beautiful, and we even enjoyed the sound of the tree frogs at night. The location was superb, just a couple of miles north of Hilo in a small beachfront community. We toured the nearby tropical botanical garden, which we highly recommend to anyone visting the area, and Steve had lots of other ideas about interesting things to see and do. Orchid Tree is top of our list of places to stay in the Hilo area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KH198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our third trip to the Big Island and this time we wanted to visit the volcano. We didn't want to waste a day driving back and forth across the island so we checked out Tripadvisor for a place to stay in Hilo. We chose the Orchid Tree based on the reviews. We weren't disappointed. We followed the driving directions to a home in a quaint neighborhood. The owners, Steve and Su, rent out two rooms of their home. Our room was huge (much larger than a master suite in a home), upscale and well appointed. The setting with the decks, yard and pool were lovely. The two highlights were Steve and the breakfast. Steve was both friendly and helpful in where to go and what to see in the area. (Visit the Hawaiian Tropical Botanical Gardens up the road - it was better than the gardens in Kauai.) You could tell that he truly enjoys being a host, meeting and talking with his guests. The breakfast included a feature item, e.g. waffles and a giant fruit tray with pineapple, papaya, mango, etc. along with some exotics like dragon fruit - not to be missed. I was surprised at the low price of our two nights stay - I even told Steve we would have paid much, much more to stay at his lovely B & B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Quite simply perfect. Only a few minutes walk from the beach, we stayed in the stand-alone unit. The finish of the unit was something like you would expect in a top boutique hotel, local hardwood floors and finish, amazing bathroom, beautiful hardwood bed, small private patio/deck. The communal area is a large covered deck with lots of seating and areas to hang out. All of this is complemented by the host who is a genuinely great guy who really cares that you enjoy your stay in Hilo. Breakfast really lives up to the photos posted on trip advisor, the best of our two week stay around the island. While the accommodation isn't cheap, and was the most we paid for a B&B, it was still the best value due to the quality and how welcome and relaxed we felt. I would recommend to anyone - our 4-year old boy fell in love with Steve the owner who loaned him some toy cars and a boogie board the day we arrived! We didn't want to leave....

Room Tip: The stand alone unit is STUNNING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TroutmaskVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to drive to Hilo from Kona. Our stay was not planed, we came in and called the same day. luckily there was one room available and Steve was absolutely pleasant. Such an amazing place, very clean and has everything you need. Beautiful pool and jacuzzi. ABSOLUTELY Wonderful service, delicious breakdast and beautiful view. I recommend this place to everyone! and whenever I visit Hilo again I will only stay at the orchid tree.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludacrislh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this B&B in 2003 (before I became a Trip advisor). The host was quite gracious and welcoming. The property inviting and near a great bit of the beach. One of THE best parts of the stay was waking up to one of the most healthy and plentiful breakfasts filled with native fruit. It was such a delight! It's nice to read the reviews almost 10 years later and see that the business has expanded and the service continues to be top-notch. Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
23.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Makakai Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid tree B&B is located one mile north of historic Old Hilo Town at Honolii Beach. Enjoy the comfort of a 600 sq/ft suite overlooking the ocean, pool and lush gardens; very private and elegant. Located within minutes of all the activities in East Hawaii: 45 minutes to Volcano National Park. Enjoy surfing, hiking, excellent dining, shops and the famous Hilo Farmer's Market. With 35 years experience on the Big Island, let us show you the way to an authentic and memorable Hawaiian experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Hilo
Orchid Tree b&b
Orchid Tree Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing