We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“More Hawaii than you could have possibly expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More Hawaii than you could have possibly expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our friends who had been to Hawaii several times dismissed the idea of staying in Hilo. But what a mistake that would have been. Our host, Steve, was not only extremely knowledgable and helpful, but acutely sensitive to the history and culture of this beautiful part of the Big Island. And it shows in the way he and Su have built the idyllic new suite in their B&B and the amazing spread of fresh food they put before you each morning. It was a great base from which to explore our too-short stay. A full-hearted mahalo to the Orchid Tree.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
167
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in a well decorated, clean room which was very spacious. The garden and pool area are very nice. Steve was a conscientious host - provided lot of local information and delicious breakfast. The neighborhood is quiet, away from the main city but within an easy 5-10 minutes to get to most places. The blacksand beach nearby is a surfing beach. Very popular. We saw a sea turtle on the beach. There is a nice walk to a nearby waterfall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trentham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Best B&B I've stayed at. Room was a delight. Breakfast was unbelievable. Hospitality was outstanding. Only problem was that our stay was over too soon. If I ever return to Hilo, the Orchid Tree B&B will be an absolute must. Many thanks to Maxine for looking after us while Steve and Su were away. Mahalo Maxine.
John and Velette, Australia.

Room Tip: For a couple, the Koi suite is the preferred option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirelookoutTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast and no pictures do it justice! Everything was top notch...deco was classy, beds were comfortable, all put together with a wonderful "you are at home" feel! It is a little slice of heaven nestled there in Hilo and we hope to visit again someday. Our only regret is that we did not get to meet Steve and Sue as they were out of town, but Maxine is so sweet and made us feel right at home! Breakfast was awesome. And we love the gecko's!!

Room Tip: both rooms are great!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bails12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wow! What else could I say. This is the best Bed & Breakfast I ever stayed. Everything is perfect: location (close to main city Hilo), beautiful and huge room with view on the ocean and sunrise, splendid garden, pool, jacuzzi, and amazing breakfast. And Steve was a terrific host with good advices for the visit. The fruit plate in the morning just worth it. Yes, you will ear the famous frogs at night but it's better than to ear trucks! Nice little beach just down the street especially for surfers (not sandy). Mahalo Steve!

Room Tip: We had the room behing the garage and it was great but I haven't seen the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast is a real find in Hilo. The room and the surroundings could not be more beautifully appointed, while feeling cozy and welcoming, too. The garden is spectacular, the furnishings exquisite, and the hospitality is top-flight. Steve, the proprietor, gave us lots of good ideas and pointers for the few days we were there, and we are grateful to him for contributing to our great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the soft green seas of the Pacific Ocean
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We live on the Big Island of Hawaii, not far out of Hilo town. When we had to get our house bombed for bugs (a periodic event here in Hawaii), we decided to make a mini-vacation of it.
We chose the Orchid Tree B&B based on its proximity to a beautiful surf spot and downtown Hilo, along with the glowing reviews from past guests.
We were not disappointed. Steve, our gracious host, and my husband talked surfing till they were talked out and I got to relax in one of the nicest rooms I've been in. We had a fabulous, fresh fruit extravaganza breakfast on our own private balconly overlooking the lotus pond and gardens. Even the coffee was perfect; robust, just the way we like it.
There are only two suites in this very private place, and they are connected by a huge lanai indoor/outdoor room. The pool is pristine and a great place to swim if you're not at the nearby ocean.
We thoroughly enjoyed our "local vacation" and will be back again.

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 people, choose the older but much larger suite. If it's just the 2 of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dharmasurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
23.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Makakai Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid tree B&B is located one mile north of historic Old Hilo Town at Honolii Beach. Enjoy the comfort of a 600 sq/ft suite overlooking the ocean, pool and lush gardens; very private and elegant. Located within minutes of all the activities in East Hawaii: 45 minutes to Volcano National Park. Enjoy surfing, hiking, excellent dining, shops and the famous Hilo Farmer's Market. With 35 years experience on the Big Island, let us show you the way to an authentic and memorable Hawaiian experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Hilo
Orchid Tree b&b
Orchid Tree Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing