We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Staff go the extra mile - and then a few more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilo Bay Hostel
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Staff go the extra mile - and then a few more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The living/communal areas of the hostel were fantastic - old-school, reminds one of a 1920's British hunting lodge (or something!), they have free coffee, tea, WiFi and surprised us with help with things like doing our washing whilst we were out (so we didn't have to wait around). When we came back a second time they even gave us a bottle of wine and some soft drinks in our fridge! We saved a lot of money staying in this hostel rather than a hotel, not only because the hostel was cheap, but because the location means you have access to remarkably cheap food (both take-out and supermarkets). Finally, I would recommend this to couples or pairs of people if they were normally going to get a hotel, it's a much better experience - hotel staff in Hilo are very "cold" in terms of customer service in my experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    46
    18
    11
    12
See reviews for
11
51
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sadly, my experience was not what I hoped after reading the reviews. I booked a private room, which looked very nice (but it was hot), but the bedding had many bed bugs. There were regular beg bugs, plus little red bugs, and a cockroach (which happily, was dead). I asked if I could change rooms, which was not possible, but the staff member I talked to didn't seem very sympathetic or helpful. Also they get you to give a key deposit (which is fine), but the keys can't be returned before 7am, when the office opened. They offered me a strange work around where I could return at 9pm to collect my deposit, but given there were at least 6 people leaving the hostel before 7 that morning, they really should get a better system. The bathrooms were clean, but the toilets and showers were quite cramped and lacked privacy. The plus side was that there was a good vibe in the hostel with lots of hostellers and staff getting along well together. The good vibe was unfortunately not worth it for me.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Cafelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff and management go above and beyond the the level of service you recieve!!! The facility is very clean, as well as a centrally located for all activities on THE BIG ILSAND. Thier positive connection with the universe was very enlighting.The comman areas were well kept,relaxing, making it very easy to make friends.

Room Tip: Highly suggest obtaining room 7,great view,constant breeze not to forget GREAT SUNRISE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sept Iles, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Hilo Bay Hostel during 3 days the first week of October 2012. The staff is friendly and the place is beautiful. It's like a old house on the second floor of a building. The bathroom, the showers, the kitchen, the common area and the bedrooms are really clean. I was in a 8 females dortoirs. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. The room a bit noisy because of the busy street, but it was the only thing that was negative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ediacara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lévis, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

At Hilo Bay Hostel it was a very nice place, kitchen, showers, dinner room, social room GREAT, beds was not comfortable, and since we had to have the window open because of the heat the noise from the street we were not able to sleep well. BUT the people there was VERY nice , and helpful .

Room Tip: Away from the street, should be more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in a private room with shared baths. It's ok if you want to save money(67$/night), but you also cut on privacy. It is very clean and my room had a mini-refrigerator. It has the same problem many other hotels in Hawaii seem to have: tiny little ants! I also saw a cockroach... It's a hostel (you have to share everything and all rooms open to the lobby, which is always frequented, not so fun when you come back feom shower) but quite clean and very acceptable in Hilo. I would recommend it to young travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This Hostel is located in a fantastic part of Hill, close to food and shopping. It's in what used to be a hotel in the twenties or thirties and it has the charm and elegance to show for it. The floors are beautiful hardwood, the ceilings are towering, and the details such as bannisters and mouldings give it an Old Hawaii feel. The beds in my private room were doubles and the room itself was huge. The common area is a gathering place for travellers, and unlike many hostels it wasn't obnoxiously noisy or rambunctious. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful.

The bathrooms are neat and I never once had to wait to use a shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrregularLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
0.3 mi away
Kama'aina Inn
Kama'aina Inn
#7 of 17 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hostel

Property: Hilo Bay Hostel
Address: 101 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2435
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hilo Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hostel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing