We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Hawaiian B&B
Ranked #8 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Westervoort, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best B&B ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Old Hawaiian B&B for 4 nights. Lory had done her utmost to serve a wonderful breakfast every morning! Delicious fruit from her own garden, a jewel on our plates every morning! The pastries she baked every morning were outstanding, and the smoothies were delicious! A packed breakfast was also possible, which was great! The room was clean and cosy, clean towels every day, fridge and microwave and waterboiler on the lanai! It was just perfect, we would advise everyone to go here, you won't find a better place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    30
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

The service and breakfast were superb. Our room was clean and comfortable. The birds sang loudly and were so peaceful on the lanai. However,our room and specifically the bathroom were adjacent to the lanai so we had little privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Old Hawaiian Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful, lovely experience. I was born and raised on O'ahu, and I am very picky about travel and lodgings. This was a wonderful, comfortable, beautiful setting, with friendly, intelligent, lovely owners who were helpful in every way. My room was the largest one available and the most private. A large iron-framed bed and smaller day bed evoked a turn of the century (19th-20th) Victorian charm. Huge double hung windows let in loads of natural light. The spa-like bathroom was modern and luxurious in size, with a sunken tub and separate shower. Being there was instantly relaxing. Breakfast service was prompt--just the right touch of casualness and formality, and was delicious. Because I was there for the high school track and field State Championships, i didn't need a lot of direction about places to go, but Lory was certainly knowledgeable. It was also fortuitous that she coaches track at Hilo High, so she was additionally helpful given my reasons for travel. The grounds were planted with authentic native plants, in addition to common, non-invasive fruit trees and a variety of flowering irises, hibiscus, to name a few. While waiting for a ride, i walked up the street where friendly neighbors smiled and waved. I would definitely return the next time I go to Hilo, and in fact, I'd prefer staying there than at a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Old Hawaiian B&B is wonderful. It was my first trip to Hawaii and this was a great start. The back yard is so beautiful. Lory has so many fresh fruits and it was fun to try all of the new ones. Her breakfasts are the best! Love the smoothies! Lory can tell you about different places to go and things to do and makes you feel right at home.
Anyone who chooses the Old Hawaiian won't regret it. I hope we can return someday.
Thanks again Lory and Stewart!
Connie T.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room. It was a large comfortable room, with a table and two chairs, an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

When originally booking my Hilo vacation, I decided on Old Hawaiian because I found Lory professional yet friendly on the phone. A lot of other B&Bs I called were a little too informal for my taste (and giving a credit card number to). Lory responded to all me pre-vacation emails promptly, including my request for an additional night.

The B&B is located not too far from the airport and just outside of downtown Hilo, walking distance to Rainbow Falls and Boiling Pots is at the end of the street. You can walk out your door and are a a 30-second walk from the river. It's very quiet, great stars at night, lots of quiet scenic roads for walking and running. The room was very clean, comfortable, and had lots of little touches (aftersun lotion, dishes, wine bottle opener, menus for everywhere in town, mosquito spray, flashlights, and much more). There are ceiling fans and between the fan and the cool Hilo nights, I got chilly once in a while, which was okay.

Lory serves a fantastic breakfast with smoothies and lots of fresh local fruit. When Lory found out that I am gluten/dairy/egg intolerant she made special cinnamon scones and chocolate muffins for me. Not only was this an unexpected and outstanding gesture, but they were DELICIOUS!!!! There is a little communal fridge and mcrowave, so it is possible to buy your own food and stash it and it was adequate for a food-restricted person like me.

There are 2 large chain grocery stores near by, as well as a natural foods market on te main drag in Hilo, plus the daily farmers market, so finding food was not too difficult.

Lory and her husband are there to answer questions (we asked about driving to Kona, best places to go for a run in town - Lory coaches track at the high school, and for general in town direction or recommendations), but they are not in-your-face. They are very respectful of your space and vacation time.

The price for our five-night stay was fantastic, beter than a lot of the standard resort/hoteoptions that were around. Plus, none of those places would've made me gluten-free vegan scones.

I would Highly recommend Old Hawaiian B&B, and when we make it back to Hilo, we will book here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room which I believe is the largest and doesn't share walls with any ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

A great place to stay. We were in the Bamboo the smallest room which was a great value. Yes the room was smaller but it was all we needed. The bed was comfortable the only thing was the walls were a little thinner for noise.
Our breakfast on the verandah over looking the tropical forest was wonderful and a great place to meet other people traveling from around the World. In the evening you could sit and relax in the verandah where it was quiet as there is no traffic beae by.
A very warm and inviting place to stay and in Hilo and close to the Volcano National Park. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandKEdmonton_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stewart and Lori have a lot of experience running a B&B, and it shows. There is a big common lanai for all guests to use, with a nice table and chairs, a tea kettle and cups, and a small refrigerator. In each room is a bin with plates, utensils, wine glasses, mugs. These are washed and replaced daily, so it's easy to enjoy take-out dinners on the lovely, quiet lanai overlooking the big yard. Breakfast is at 8 and features beautifully arranged fruits from the yard, boiled eggs, and homebaked breads or coffee cakes as well as smoothies. The Bamboo Room, the smallest, was quite adequate for us, and had two chairs and a small table lamp for reading in the evening. We find that we don't need big rooms in Hawaii, if there's a lanai we can use, and there usually is. The location is a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of the Boiling Pots park on the Wailuku River. The rate has stayed the same for many years, a rarity in Hawaii, and is a very good value.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Room, at $80, is pleasantly decorated and has good light. The bathroom, which was added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again. I am happy that you had a good experience at our place. Thank you for writing a review . Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
3.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
20.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hawaiian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hawaiian B&B

Property: The Old Hawaiian B&B
Address: 1492 Wailuku Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-1254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hawaiian B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hawaiian B&B is a two story 'Olde Hawaiian Style' home located on 1/2 acre of gorgeous landscaped grounds, backing onto State-owned land, and the Wailuku River. It is situated in one of the most peaceful and tropical areas of Hilo, and only two blocks from the Boiling Pots Park, which has an overlook of the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Hawaiian B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hawaiian Bed And Breakfast
The Old Hawaiian Hotel Hilo
The Old Hawaiian B&B Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing