We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great B&B!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay was great. The house is a beautiful historic home with plenty of room. It was like staying with family (the part of the family you like). Maureen has a wealth of knowledge and local contacts. We had some of the best sleep in a while. The chorus of coqui frogs, coupled with the enormous beds, allowed for great sleep night after night. If your visiting the Big Island, you'll want to go to Hilo, in order to experience real Hawaiian living. If you are planning on staying in Hilo, you need to stay at Maureen's. We loved our stay and made new friends (Brian & Pamela; Dieter & Edita; and Venus).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was very disappointed with our trip to Hilo because of the awful stay we had at Maureen's B&B. I was quoted a price that was doubled once we checked out. I disagreed and was told the original quote would be honored; however, once returning home an addition charge was added to my credit card. The website is not up-to-date and is deceiving. No security, barking dogs, poor quality food for a B&B, but most disturbing are the noisy frogs that keep you up all night. Several things did not work, such as a fan, DVD player, lights, and bathroom fixtures. My wife and two grandkids were also disappointed in our stay at Maureen's B&B.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want to enjoy your stay in Hilo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredUWProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent only one night in this place but we loved it!
Maureen is very nice and you feel in her house like being at home (except that her house is much larger than our house in Paris!). The house is very large, as well as the rooms and the beds!
Maureen had recommended us a place to have dinner and the restaurant was great! No need to drive back downtown. It was just 2 miles away and very easy to find!
We strongly recommend you to investigate this option if you are looking for a place to stay in Hilo!

Room Tip: Just ask Maureen and she will tell you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My travelling companion and I spent two nights with Maureen at her B&B in Hilo. We had a wonderful experience! Maureen is very warm and engaging. She made several recommendations for us including an excellent guide book. The breakfasts were incredible. Home made blueberry pancakes one day and quiche the next. There is a black sand beach just about 3/10 of a mile down the road complete with sea turtles, "4 mile beach" is just a few blocks away, and an amazing "Diamond Spot" just across the street which is labeled a "must see location" by several tour books. The B&B itself is very charming with a ton of character. Maureen's cat, Seabiscuit, also acts as an amazing host and will make himself feel quite comfortable on your lap as long as you offer some scratches behind his ears. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougWillaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Maureen s Bed and Breakfast early February 2013. Maureen is a lovely person. Very charming and helpful. Our room was really nice and the bed very comfortable. We stayed upstairs. The frogs chirping put us to sleep. Its nature! Maureen has such lovely antiques in her home. We were amazed by all her antique furniture. Just loved it.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Good coffee and fruit cups for everyone. Then Maureen made pancakes with a dozen different kinds of syrup to try.
I noticed some other reviews about junk in the yard, but we never noticed any.
Our room was lovely and very important to me - IT WAS VERY CLEAN!!
Lovely lanai and TV room to relax.
We would definitely recommend Maureen s B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Postie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed two nights at maureens in two rooms (one upstairs with two bed and one downstairs with one big bed). the bedrooms upstairs was really small for two adults and two suitcases, we discovered a cockroach, but i guess thats pretty normal for the tropics.
bathrooms were ok- but the water systems seems very old and also the furniture is very old (looks nice though) but maybe some of them need a replacement. no tv in rooms - but wifi.

breakfast was just a bowl of papaya and banana and coffee (not the best one) and some random juice. one day we had blueberry pancakes and the other day a quiche - it tasted nice but..yeah ..i expected a little bit more for that price.

carpark is in front of the house. the house is unlocked (since 25 years) also you can't lock the rooms while you're gone on a trip or something. Hilo is quite wet area so everything is wet there..you can feel it after a few minutes..the cloth and everything gets a little bit clammy.

in conclusion: nice place for a short stay.

maureen is really helpful to explore the area and has some great advices for the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Park, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This B and B is near the airport, but very quiet area across from the beach. Rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Hilo was a few miles down the road, but an easy distance. The house is charming and we were there before Christmas and got to see a huge decorated tree in the living room which by the way has a huge ceiling. Beautiful arched wooden doorways. Great stay!!!

Room Tip: Every room was great....we had our choice of 4. We picked the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsuwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
4.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
24.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maureen's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maureen's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maureen's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1896 Kalanianaole Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maureen's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maureen's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing