We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice old house - very expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maureen's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice old house - very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed two nights at maureens in two rooms (one upstairs with two bed and one downstairs with one big bed). the bedrooms upstairs was really small for two adults and two suitcases, we discovered a cockroach, but i guess thats pretty normal for the tropics.
bathrooms were ok- but the water systems seems very old and also the furniture is very old (looks nice though) but maybe some of them need a replacement. no tv in rooms - but wifi.

breakfast was just a bowl of papaya and banana and coffee (not the best one) and some random juice. one day we had blueberry pancakes and the other day a quiche - it tasted nice but..yeah ..i expected a little bit more for that price.

carpark is in front of the house. the house is unlocked (since 25 years) also you can't lock the rooms while you're gone on a trip or something. Hilo is quite wet area so everything is wet there..you can feel it after a few minutes..the cloth and everything gets a little bit clammy.

in conclusion: nice place for a short stay.

maureen is really helpful to explore the area and has some great advices for the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This B and B is near the airport, but very quiet area across from the beach. Rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Hilo was a few miles down the road, but an easy distance. The house is charming and we were there before Christmas and got to see a huge decorated tree in the living room which by the way has a huge ceiling. Beautiful arched wooden doorways. Great stay!!!

Room Tip: Every room was great....we had our choice of 4. We picked the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watsuwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Slightly off the beaten path and out of the crowds of the Downtown Hilo area, this B&B was perfectly situated. Beautiful beach right across the street. Breakfast was tasty and fun around the community table. The beauty and comfort of the facility is only trumped by Maureen's incredible spirit and hospitality. Go Ravens!

Room Tip: The King Size room was airy and the night breeze was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M323_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

When entering the driveway you get the impression you are in a junk yard.: an old BMW falling apart, a barking dog and lack of reception.
The owner informed us that there is no locks on the outside doors which created a feeling of insecurity. She then left telling us she can be reached by cell phone. We blook our room with a chair for the night.
The breakfast consisted only of a small bol of fruits, pancakes and terrible coffee.
After driving from Kona we wanted to take a shower but the plumbing was such in bad shape we were afraid it would fall apart. The shower head had no support so we had to hold it for each other.
We paid 90$ plus tax which we consider too much for what we received.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soltru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

deception 1: The parking is in front of a garage where piles of junk are all around, and an uncared for garden welcomes you to the house. Deception 2: The house is worn down with lots of paint pealing from the walls and without any lock whatsoever, the main foyer is not bad with old wood beams. Deception 3: The rooms are dirty, with a quater inch of dirt on the cealing fan, the screens are full of holes and we had to close the windows to keep the bugs out, it was very hot all night. Deception 4: The bathrooms SHARED were dirty, very old appliance with missing enamel, the plumbing dated from the sixties, it was an adventure just to take a shower. Deception 5: The breakfast, small bowl of bananas and papayas with some waffles and very sweet cheap sirup, infect coffee, THAT'S IT. If you like deceptions, This is the place for you, if you want a good B&B at a fair price go somewhere else, anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for the recent Merrie Monarch Festival. House is big, old, and a little on the dark side late at night. The bed and room was so homey that fell asleep immediately. Smells of belgian waffles or spinach and brocolli quiche greet you in the monring. What a great way to wake up. Sitting down to breakfast with the other guests and discussing the events of the previous night is so delightful and insightful. The screened-in porches are perfect for laying about with a good book. Everything is so green - truly a tropical paradise. The claw-footed tub with the hand shower was a unique experience but added to the old-fashioned charm of the place. Hilo Homemade Ice Cream, Seaside Restaurant (great fish), and a couple of nice beaches are just a couple of minutes away. The stadium, downtown, Ken's (24-hour restaurant), and Big Island Candies are a mere 5 minutes out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICURN-CCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here end of January 2012,and liked old historic house ambience and outside property.On a street where maybe two oceanside parks before the house,and two after it--all nice ones with tidepools etc,and on weekends lots of families and cookouts,etc. All i missed was breakfast with eggs and bacon,which I am addicted to.And the friendly house cat is great;previous review must have been cat haters.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Quasimodo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
4.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
24.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maureen's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maureen's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maureen's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1896 Kalanianaole Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maureen's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maureen's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing