We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best kept secret in Hilo”
Review of Sushi Bar Hime - CLOSED

Sushi Bar Hime
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best kept secret in Hilo”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for quaint, small settings with great sushi, this is the place.
My wife and I ate here on our last day on the Big Island, and wish we had eaten here more.

The fish was very fresh and the rolls were very tasty. Sadly, I didn't see that they have plum wine to wash it down with.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sushi Bar Hime in Hilo”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We enjoyed several meals at Sushi Bar Hime, now located in downtown Hilo. The food was really good, traditional sushi. We also were impressed that the proprietors remembered us after our first visit and were pleasant and helpful. This is a tiny little restaurant, but well worth the visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyaEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good sushi in Hilo”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We found the Sushi Bar Hime in Hilo by wandering down Furneaux Lane which is only about two blocks from the Farmer's Market. The restaurant is very small with only 3 tables and is run by the owners, a friendly husband and wife. They have a nice selection of traditional sushi including some very tasty and creative rolls. The pieces which we ordered were well prepared and nicely presented. The rice in the rolls and nigiri were a bit warm and flavored with rice vinegar as we prefer. We liked the place so much that we came back a second time during our stay in Hilo. I would recommend it to other sushi lovers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dooglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Price to quality ratio very favorable.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My new husband and I ordered three sushi rolls and an order of flying fish roe, each one for less than 5 dollars. We enjoyed the sushi very much. It is standard, good sushi that they made right when we ordered it. And you really can't beat the price.

We brought the sushi back to our hotel to eat in the comfort of our lanai. (If you saw our review of the Hilo Bay Hale, you must know we loved our space there!) So we can't say too much about dining in. We noticed the place was rather small, and we weren't swept away by the atmosphere. We were served promptly and really enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baldvin_and_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No complaints; decent food”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We had a very good dining experience at Sushi Bar Hime. This restaurant is in downtown Hilo within walking distance to the bayfront which is nice. The restaurant is very clean and we found the food quality to be good. It's a small venue, so don't plan to bring a large group. The service was good. We would return.

Helpful?
Thank peacefultravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Bar Hime also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing