We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach”

Richardson Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Hilo Hot Steam Volcano Tour: Waterfalls - Big Island Candies - Black Sand
Ranked #6 of 80 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was the best beach in the Hilo area. Absolutely beautiful. Take a walk over the rocks and you might see dolphins swimming, along with many fish in small pools of water. Or just lay out on the black sand and do some snorkeling. Lots of life in this beach area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    152
    36
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Turtles!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice for huuugggeeee sea turtles! I didnt swim because of the temperature, but it didnt look very good for it anyways.

Helpful?
Thank chevaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great place to see turtles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I went to Richardson to swim with the turtles. It was closed due to extermination of fire ants. I tried again the following week. The water was too rough to go in but you could see lots of turtles from the shore. Even with the rough water the locals were brave enough to go in. I recommend a waterproof or underwater camera when you go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dreamy place, very family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The snorkeling was very good - from small eel to sea turtles, and lots of varieties of fish and coral, and gentle currents. The site is so varied and interesting, with the old lava flows and rocks, and various natural pools you can swim in, in addition to the larger swimming areas. Amazing to have such a beautiful place as a public park. The water was clean and clear. The people are so friendly. Lots of families with children and grandparents.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool view, sit on the sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This beach reminds me of " from here to eternity "!!! One of those beaches you take your beloved
to sit and stare @ sunset and talk about the future and how much you love each other. Walk in the sand hand in hand, kick the sand. Showers are available outside Island feel is the tables sitting 6 persons..perfect for a PICNIC. Notice...I did not say take a swim. Rocks with breaking waves look very challenging and fierce....enough to have a lifeguard station.
I sit here and think about my friend's tiny tyke and how simple life is...scooping sand with his tiny
construction toys...happy as a clam. Sometimes the peace and serentiy we all seek. Still love the picnic area and the parking lot is right next door. Hele-On bus service ( Keakaha ) hourly except lunchtime. Bus service to good way to cruise the beach road. See the restaurant,
Carl Smith beach park, Hilo tropical ice cream etc on this three mile road. One of those roads you
forget all your troubles and cares...take a relax day from your worries and stress.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richardson Beach Park also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Richardson Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing