We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access, great area”

Richardson Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Hilo Hot Steam Volcano Tour: Waterfalls - Big Island Candies - Black Sand
More Info
$999.00*
and up
Kona Coast to Hilo and Volcanoes National Park
More Info
$467.28*
and up
Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu
Ranked #6 of 81 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy access, great area”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Even though the Richardson Beacj park only have a rather small beach, it's made of black lava sand. Beautiful and plenty of places to put your towel down and just dive in snorkelling. The giant seaturtles are spotted all the time and magnificent creatures. Just be careful not to disturb hem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    162
    37
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UT
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best beach on Hilo side”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is probably the best beach around Hilo. There is an area of black sand beach that isn't so rocky like most of Hilo. Kids can enjoy and you can do some bodysurfing if it isn't too crowded. Lots of turtles are always swimming around, and the water is fairly clear. If you want to see a black sand beach and not drive too far, this is it. As others have mentioned, parking is difficult to find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mu51c10rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
“you have to include this!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

volcanos create black sand beaches, so if you are going to visit the volcanos, you have to see a black sand beach! we visited this one on our cruise and got some great pics, don't forget your camera!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Froggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Richardson Beach Park”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Hawaii. We had snorkeled in some beautiful, much calmer, water in Mexico and at first found Richardson Beach rather intimidating. There was a constant, fairly powerful, wave action. Not being locals, we walked and looked around before deciding where it was best to enter the water. Most of the coastline in the park is not beach, just rough lava rock. We did find a small sand area and swam and snorkeled there. We had seen a couple of large turtles sleeping on some rocks out in the water, earlier, and as I was preoccupied trying to adjust my mask, a large turtle swam right up to my leg! A man nearby, warned me that it was there, and unfortunately I screamed and scared it away :/ It was a bit too close for comfort! We snorkeled and saw a few fish, but no more turtles underwater. In the beach area, there is a line of rocks a ways out, that serves to break the bigger waves coming in, but still the water was choppy. There is a nice bathroom and outdoor showers at the park. The grounds are amazingly beautiful with a meandering stream and pools set into a lush green carpet of grass, with towering palms which are reflected in the dark pools. Gorgeous - we're not in Kansas anymore! We went to Richardson Beach twice when we were in Hilo, and it was the best Beach Park we visited.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Black sand beach - small but lovely. Lots of fish and turtles!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice swimming beach - sandy so you an walk in easily. Lots of kids playing on the surf - small waves and no warning flags. Did lots of snorkeling - saw many fish, and even swam with a number of turtles. Very cool! Easy beach to swim in - unlike so many with warning flags and strong currents. One side had lots of lava outcroppings - good for climbing over and watching the waves crash into it. Only down side was seeing middle aged dude in lime green thong. Didn't need to see that :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richardson Beach Park also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Richardson Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing