We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful tide pools and turtle viewing”

Richardson Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Hilo Hot Steam Volcano Tour: Waterfalls - Big Island Candies - Black Sand
Ranked #6 of 80 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful tide pools and turtle viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved this quaint beach park with natural springs and tide pools right in Hilo. The swimming was safe for kids and we saw turtles come in very close.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    152
    36
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great swimming beach FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wonderful swimming beach with nice snorkeling along the coast and it is all FREE for the asking. Check it out and see for yourself

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful, rustic beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Some areas were very crowded, but the ocean is beautiful with sea spray on the lava rocks. Nice to see families really enjoying themselves and kids running free without a worry. A step back in time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful black sand beach in Hilo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We passed by at least two beach parks before we reached Richardson Beach Park. The gate opens till 8 PM. We passed by a small fish pond before reaching the black sand beach. The sand was a little rougher. Lifeguard and picnic tables are available on site. We saw many boogie boarders and SUPs. We tried to snorkel but the tide was too strong.
If you walk further south, you'll walk onto a hardened lava rock formation. It's so nice to look at the waves crashing at this lava rock.
Outside shower and bathroom are available.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great park, nice little beach, fair to average snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very pretty little beach in Hilo. It seems to be the main beach hangout for the town; We first went during the week and had no trouble parking. When we drove by on a Sunday, though, it was a mess. I would avoid weekends here at all costs.
This was the first place we snorkeled on the Big Island and we thought it was amazing (until we hit the tidepools). We saw a fair amount of fish and it was a lot of fun. The showers are nice and the restrooms were clean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank christinapearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richardson Beach Park also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Richardson Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing