We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poke Galore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suisan

Suisan
93 Lihiwai St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 967-20
(808)935-9349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 228 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poke Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hawaiian sushi is called Poke. Fresh ahi, super fresh fish with brown steamed rice and seaweed salad.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SittSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    47
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent poke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had our first ahi shoyu poke from Suisan. It was beyond delicious!
We had to compare every poke we bought from different places to the one we had in Suisan! It's that good.
They marinated the ahi with the perfect amount of salt, garlic, spring onion, shoyu, and seaweed.
They sell different varieties of poke and fish.
A must try if you like seafood and in Hilo area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshest fish around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're from the mainland you wouldn't know a shop full of fish could have no smell but the ocean. High standards for freshness.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“poki - delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

one word - delicious. ordered a variety of poki and lomi lomi and each one was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back when we go back to Hilo.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious poke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is not a restaurant; it's a fish market. However, the poke is outstanding! This is a great place for a quick grab-and-go lunch.

My wife and I love sushi and all kinds of fish so we were looking for a quick place to eat after our helicopter tour at Hilo airport. We each ordered a poke bowl and took it up to the picnic table behind the restaurant to eat while we watched the water.

I just wish we were staying in Hilo so we could have gone back a few more times!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suisan also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Suisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing