We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Freshest fish around.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suisan

Suisan
Ranked #7 of 233 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshest fish around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're from the mainland you wouldn't know a shop full of fish could have no smell but the ocean. High standards for freshness.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    56
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“poki - delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

one word - delicious. ordered a variety of poki and lomi lomi and each one was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back when we go back to Hilo.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious poke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is not a restaurant; it's a fish market. However, the poke is outstanding! This is a great place for a quick grab-and-go lunch.

My wife and I love sushi and all kinds of fish so we were looking for a quick place to eat after our helicopter tour at Hilo airport. We each ordered a poke bowl and took it up to the picnic table behind the restaurant to eat while we watched the water.

I just wish we were staying in Hilo so we could have gone back a few more times!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FRESH POKE!!! Great Brown rice poke bowls at a very good price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great selection of fresh local poke - yes it is mostly raw. Served on your choice of white or brown rice - or for those low carb people toss salad....fresh and healthy. This is not a this is not a tourist centered eatery- it is real people place to eat fresh fish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hihono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh fish right off the boat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We always go here for the freshest fish. Their poke is great and they have a great variety. Whether you buy Ono, Ahi, Mahi Mahi or some other one of the great varieties they sell you will have fresh. You can also take it next door to the cafe to have it cooked.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelnut22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suisan also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Suisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing