We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay near Hilo, HI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We returned for our second stay for a reason. The view, the location, the food, the welcoming hosts, the recommendations to local areas which saved us time and energy to name just a few. We met a number of other guests who shared our o
philosophy of travel and life, making our entire travel experience that much more amenable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HjordisMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed in 4 different locations around the Big Island, and this was a big highlight! The location (on the water, watching whales and surfers each morning from our room and during breakfast) and the food (fantastic, and more than enough to feed two hungry teenage sons) were great. Beyond that, Ric's recommendations about where to find sea turtles, which restaurants to hit and when, and shopping were top notch. Stay here and drive to all the great things nearby, including the Farmer's Market. Rooms spacious & welcoming, highly recommend this place. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanelleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Beautiful view right out your window and lanai. Whales jumping, surf pounding against the cliffs, excellent beds and linens. Super breakfast. What else can I say? Okay, the parking gets a little getting used to but it's a small price to pay for paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackinspok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Hale Kai. This place has the best views ! In the morning, you have a great breakfast in a shared table with the other guest, where you get good tips and excelent info from Ric. Both Maria and Ric are always eager to make your time there pleasant ! Don´t hesitate, it´s the best place to saty while in Hilo. I would recomend the Bamboo room, since it has a private Lanai. ! Have a wonderful time at the Big Island, dont miss the Waipou Valley, be sure to get to the Beach !

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We loved this B&B! It is on a cliff RIGHT ON THE PACIFIC, just north of Hilo and very convenient to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Akaka Falls and all there is to do in and around Hilo. We stayed three nights (not nearly enough time!) in the Bamboo Room - great view and roomy. Ric gave us expert advice on seeing the lava. Maria makes the most delicious breakfasts you'll ever have. Mahalo to them both!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwalk1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This stay was a highlight of our trip, the hosts, service and advice from them was the best. Breakfasts and accomodation combined with the location and views are second to none in the area we could imagine. Thanks Maria and Ric, if and when we come back we will book in with you again. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to this location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My stay at Hale Kai could not have been more peaceful...more beautiful...more spiritual. I can still hear the roar of the waves. I slept like a baby with the ocean at my feet. The hosts are helpful but not intrusive. I am a woman traveling alone and I felt supremely comfortable at this b and b. I could have company in the mornings with the other guests. Maria and Ric are knowledgeable of the area and give suggestions if you want. I watched everyone hustle about each day with plans to go here and there. For me I just wanted to stay at Hale Kai and be at peace. Absolutely the best place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivTybeeIsland_Ga_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Address: 111 Honolii Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $190 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bathroom, free WiFi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing