We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Island view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a great view from our room and the breakfast terrace. We could lay in bed and see everything. The folks were nice , helpful and friendly. Food was great and a good variety. We and our travel friends would highly recommend. The grounds around were relaxing and scenic. Boats, surfers, trees and flowers. Close to town with easy access. A Five Coconut B and B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 302 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were very disappointed with the size of our room (the on-line photos made it look quite a bit larger) and the lack of the Aloha spirit from the owners. The Hot Tub that was advertised was not there at all and that was one reason we booked this B&B. The view was great, however, while trying to enjoy it other guests walked within 2 feet of where we were sitting on our lanai to enter their rooms, so lack of privacy is a big issue. Also there is no coffee/tea service in either the room or the shared kitchen area. We are early risers and waiting until 7:30 or 8:00AM is a long time to wait for a cup of coffee. The breakfast was okay.
We would not return or recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just spend two nights at the Hale Kai. We thought the location, view, hospitality and breakfasts were quite good. The room is just okay though. For the time we spent there, it was well worth it, but if you are the type to want to hang out at the B&B or in the room, I would suggest trying something else. But if you are more inclined to be out, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Room is at the far end of the house and doesn't have as much "traffic" goin...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraGrace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I had a very romantic and quiet stay at this bed and breakfast. After a few days on Waikiki Beach, staying in Hilo on the Big Island was a welcome change. The Bamboo Room had this magnificent postcard-perfect view of the bay, gorgeous garden, a lotus blossom in waterpot just beginning to bloom, a few palm trees, and the ocean. We spent some time sitting out at our private patio table just enjoying the breeze, watching and listening to the ocean, it was so perfect. We almost felt like we had our own oceanfront million dollar home here. We really loved everything about this place, and hope some day to go back. Possibly, the only drawback might be the parking, which is a little tight. We were also so sorry to hear that a couple cancelled during our stay due to the outside steps. The steps really weren't bad, and we trotted up and down them with various souvenirs, guidebooks, etc. in the evenings.
Breakfast was at 8:00am, which gave us an early start for all the outdoor activities, and it is indeed on the back porch above the rooms, with another absolutely stellar view. The coffee was good, the fruit was tasty (one day had passion fruit and star fruit), and the hot entree that followed was also tasty. The owners were lucky to have a good friend to tend to their B&B while they were gone for a few days, particularly as he was a great cook. Ron's frittatas were light and fluffy and would be the envy of many a B&B chef. The coconut-mac pancakes were also delicious (choose the coconut syrup). Other features that made us happy included working wi-fi, very clean rooms that kept nature on the outside, and the fact that we could stay by the ocean but be only 45 minutes drive from Volcano National Park and Mauna Kea.

Room Tip: We liked the Bamboo Room--it's the most private, as it's on the far end. The photos on the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We made a last minute plan to catch a rising swell in Hanolii Bay so we didn't get a chance to do our usual research for place to stay, turns out we didn't need to. One conversation with Janet and we felt well take care of. We got in late in the afternoon, no problem, and we're greeted by her super welcoming smile. We're not always big fans of the communal B & B angle but the balance was perfect here the room was perfect, big windows, beautiful oceans sounds to put you to sleep. On yeah, BEST pillows ever. The surf didnt disappoint, and the breakfast was killer! Turns out Janet and the owner are part of a cooking club. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaNYandRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Highly recommend this B & B, beautiful location,scrumptious breakfasts. Maria & Rick are very welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area. Wonderful few days spent here, we will be back at some point. Thank you so much. Nicola & Neill Dudley.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our stay with Ric and Maria at Hale Kai B&B during August 2013 could not have been better. Each morning started with a delicious variety of fruits followed by a hot dish like macadamia nut pancakes or a frittata. All of this was served on a lanai overlooking the ocean. We stayed in the Pele Suite, a decision I was happy to have made. A separate bedroom and living room, the latter looking out over our lanai to the ocean, as well as a small kitchenette gave us some additional flexibility for our 6 night stay.
A medical emergency prolonged our stay by one night and Ric kindly arranged for us to stay in the same room by asking another couple to spend their one night in a different room (they kindly agreed). Also Maria prepared a food plate for me to have while I spent a day in the local hospital.
We hope to return to Hilo some day and there is no doubt we will stay at the Hale Kai once again.

Room Tip: Choose the Pele Suite if staying for several nights.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Address: 111 Honolii Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $190 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bathroom, free WiFi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing