We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in exceptional setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early March 2013 with another couple as part of a three week trip to Hawaii and wholeheartedly recommend this B&B which is situated in a quiet, residential area about 5 mins by car from Hilo centre. We were able to try three of the four rooms as we booked late so had to swap rooms after one night. All of the rooms that we used were comfortable with good beds and bathrooms and attractively decorated. There were beautiful views of Hilo Bay from the rooms and the terrace outside, a perfect spot for whale-watching. We particularly liked the delicious breakfasts with a Hawaiian twist cooked by Maria and taken on the lanai upstairs at a communal table. The interaction with other guests created a convivial start to the day, the flow of conversation only interrupted by someone spotting another whale breach in the ocean below. We found both Ric and Maria friendly and helpful. Ric did a briefing at breakfast on what was on each day and was really helpful with planning trips so we felt we got the best out of Hilo, the south east of the island and Volcanoes NP. There are helpful briefing sheets with recommendations on what to see and places to eat in the rooms as well. The only issue which may be important to some future guests is that this B&B is on a steep site. We had fun parking and unparking on the steep drive but got the hang of it after the first time. There are steps down through the garden to get to the terrace which may be awkward with heavy luggage but are perfectly manageable otherwise. It's definitely worth putting up with this minor inconvenience for the views, comfort and friendly welcome which all contribute to a deeply relaxing stay in a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The view sells this place, not the room. The rooms look out onto the Heilo Bay and the Pacific Ocean on the eastern side of the Island. Our room was clean. Things were broken and looked to have gone without repairs for some time. There are four rooms; we saw only one.

The Host and Hostess were very friendly and helpful. The food was fresh and well prepared; good but not exceptional. At this and other Hawaii B&Bs, slicing up the assorted fresh fruits of paradise makes all cooks look good.

We stayed for one nigh, and also stayed in two other B&Bs on the Big Island. Of the three, this was the most expensive and the least value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank none-alpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Hale Kai Hawaii B & B in March 2013, and it was one of our favorite things about our trip to Hawaii! Ric and Maria were gracious hosts, helpful with sightseeing plans, and the food was out of this world. Whale breaching off of the patio was so fun to watch and the accommodations were more than adequate. It was nice to get out of the hustle-bustle of a hotel, relax, and meet a few new friends. It is not the Ritz, so if that's what you are looking for, you'll be disappointed. If you want comfortable, relaxing, beautiful views, and great breakfasts, you will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pele room, which has a kitchen area, so we had a small refrigerator and a microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glostar1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I found this B & B online. Not knowing if everything you read on the internet is true, I wasn't sure what to expect. From the time we pulled into the driveway, until we left (3 ldays later) & pulled out of the driveway....this was one of the BEST places we stayed (3 islands, 4 places). Every morning we had breakfast upstairs and watched the whales while we ate & visited with other guests. The personal service they provide (borrowed us a cooler, answered the phone when we were lost) is real. The PRICELESS thing we received from Rick & Maria were recommendations on what to do & places to eat. They were "spot on" with everything on the list they leave in your room which saves you money & time. Instantly, we felt very welcome! A "MUST STAY" IN HILO.

Room Tip: If you have a child, chose the Pele Suite (end unit).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALIBULA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This B&B is a little pricey but well worth it. The property is lovely, the views spectacular and breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious! Our hosts, Rick & Maria were friendly and helpful. Everyone sits together at the breakfast table so there is a lot of information exchange and pleasant chat. It's a great opportunity to meet people from all over and at the right time of year, to keep an eye out for whales. We arrived just at the end of the migration season and were fortunate enough to see a couple of stragglers. Our accommodation was well appointed and immaculate. Pamper yourself!

Room Tip: There are four rooms but only one is a suite. It is nice to have that extra space and it also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilwineMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent experience overall. Rooms are very clean and everyone has their own little patio. View is great, especially watching the surfers as we ate breakfast. For what you pay, rooms could be updated some- but theyre still nice and you wont spent much time in them anyway. No AC, so windows are open and you can hear everyone. We would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carafin82284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I started our trip to the islands with four days at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Great location with terrific views of sunrise off of Hilo bay. The room was very comfortable and the walk in shower was a nice touch. Grounds were well keep with floweres and exotic plants everywhere you turned. Ric and Maria were perfect hosts and were very helpful in our trip planning. Breakfast each morning on the lanai was well terrific, great views, great food and fresh kona coffee. Could not have been happier with our experience here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnm4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
585 reviews
8 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
0.3 mi away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Address: 111 Honolii Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $192 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bathroom, free WiFi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing