We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view but need a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great view best part of this B B. Good size room which was good as we had three staying together.
You need a car to stay here so you can go out for your evening meal. We would have liked a jug in the room so that after dinner you could make a cup of tea, or early morning drink. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbearNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 305 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've only had one other experience with a B&B and it was a good one, which is what prompted us to try it again. We could not have had a better experience here. The breakfasts were phenominal. Maria is a great cook and eating out on the lanai every morning is a big plus. The property was immaculately kept and the views of the ocean were spectacular. The beds were comfortable and as far as our room went, the room was exactly as advertised on the website. We had a great time meeting the other guests and learning about their experiences. Rick was very knowledgable about the area and had lots of tips to help us enjoy Hilo and the surrounding areas. You really have all the comforts of home (and more) with the spectacular views, wonderfully kept property, watching the whales breaching right off the coast and those delicious breakfasts. In looking at some of the other reviews, I didn't see many that I felt were out of line, but I don't look for perfection in every single area. I am rating our overall experience and it couldn't have been better. The parking is not perfect, the rooms may not be brand spanking new, but overall, those things are very very insignificant to the overall experience. You will not be disappointed to stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have the same spectacular view. Read the room descriptions on the website and choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjdelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent place just outside Hilo, 5 min by car. The room faces the ocean, with a nice lanai where you can relax and look at the ocean. We were there in february so we were lucky enough to see many whales breaching out, just from our room. Totally awesome. The room is clean and Rick and Maria are very nice people with a lot of good advises on what to see in the area. The breakfast is probably the best one we had in all our vacation where we stayed at 5 different B&Bs. Fresh fruit with some very particular fruits that I never heard before (e.g. rambutan) and the macadamia pancakes were out of this world.
I definitely recommend this place and I will go back if I'll visit Hilo again (hopefully)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gangelo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've stayed at the Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast every other year for eight years now and absolutely love the rooms, food and location. Sitting high on a cliff, breakfast is on a wonderful balcony overlooking the bay and most times you can enjoy dolphins or whales passing by as you dine on Maria's gourmet macadamia nut pancakes and sumptious tropical fruits. Even the coffee tastes richer and more flavorful here. The rooms are nicely decorated in a Hawaiian motif, always very clean and comfortable with the same wonderful bay view. Rick's knowledge of Geology and of the area provide current information about the volcano activity at the park and a host of sight seeing spots not to miss. It's the perfect location in Hilo and a fun place to stay. We would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have unique features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Able to watch whales spout from the backyard (Immediately by our room). Breakfasts were excellent. A bit of a shlep from the car to the room with luggage and the room could use some up-dating. Over-all, an excellent location and a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _argold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were not expecting a lot and we got what we expected. Parking is a nightmare. The rooms are o.k., but look better on the website than they are in real life. Breakfast is good, not a foodie experience. The bathroom was TINY.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWfoodie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We travel on a budget but we splurged and booked two nights in the Bamboo room so we could be right on the water for at least a portion of our stay on the island. I was able to enjoy a beautiful sunrise both mornings right from my bed which was wonderful. The breakfast was excellent both days, our favorite was the stuffed papaya. The bed was very comfortable and the walk in shower was great. You must walk by all the other rooms to get to the Bamboo room at the end so it is the most private. I don't know that I would have been comfortable sleeping with the drapes open otherwise. The door to the Bamboo room is through the commons area where the refrigerator and stairway to breakfast is located. I had to put in ear plugs the first night due to the noise from the frogs, although it is a very consistant noise. They were less noisy the second night and I didn't need earplugs. I can see where some people might have trouble with the driveway parking since it is slanted and tight but my husband didn't have any problems. The hosts were very nice and willing to answer any questions we had.

Room Tip: Bamboo room is the most private.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
0.3 mi away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Address: 111 Honolii Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $190 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bathroom, free WiFi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing