We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food and lots of it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
Ranked #9 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Lucys we try to give you a great all around experience, as well as some good food. We use the freshest ingredient from right here in our backyards to the best of our abilities, supporting our local farmers, ranchers, and fellow business owners. We serve lunch, dinner, and breakfast all day. We have a full bar, as well as ten draft beers on tap. Come in a take a look, or eat, or drink, or eat and drink.... and join the party
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have made this a regular lunch stop for us. I love the fish tacos. You order at the counter and then find a seat. A colorful paper mâché donkey with a Hispanic name goes with you to your table . This helps the wait staff to deliver your food. nothing fancy here but the staff is smiling and efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Faerydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    65
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Sorry we believed the other reviews -wouldn't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Checked reviews to help select a place to eat when in Hilo. Ate here based on reviews. Very disappointed. $19 for my 3 small, okay soft tacos, 1 huge burrito, 1 soda. Burrito may have looked huge, but who fills a burrito with iceberg lettuce and fresh tomato? Nothing like we've ever seen in Mexico or Colorado, where we usually eat Mexican Food. Our bad for eating Mexican in Hawaii. No fresh salsa or pico de gallo, and when I asked about it, waitress was rude, made some snide remark and walked off. Wouldn't waste our money there again.
Tempted to rate a 1 just to counteract the 5's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pseudo Mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Lucy's especial burrito is a taco salad in a tortilla with about 2 tbs. beans and 2 tbs. ground beef. The staff was not very friendly or helpful. No fresh tomato or pico de gallo or red salsa. Just not that good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvxeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best vegetarian, Mexican food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to Lucy's for dinner on our way back from the Hawaii Volcano Park on the Big Island. This restaurant has the best salsa that I have had so far. Awesome vegetarian varieties to choose from (which is usually rare for us vegetarians)! Awesome potato burritoes. Never had those before.
A fun, lively, local hang out.

Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The people are so friendly and the food is oh so good! Lots of vegetarian selections and you can get a beer too! what more could a person want?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing