We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best vegetarian, Mexican food ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
Ranked #9 of 233 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Lucys we try to give you a great all around experience, as well as some good food. We use the freshest ingredient from right here in our backyards to the best of our abilities, supporting our local farmers, ranchers, and fellow business owners. We serve lunch, dinner, and breakfast all day. We have a full bar, as well as ten draft beers on tap. Come in a take a look, or eat, or drink, or eat and drink.... and join the party
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best vegetarian, Mexican food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to Lucy's for dinner on our way back from the Hawaii Volcano Park on the Big Island. This restaurant has the best salsa that I have had so far. Awesome vegetarian varieties to choose from (which is usually rare for us vegetarians)! Awesome potato burritoes. Never had those before.
A fun, lively, local hang out.

Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    71
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalapana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The people are so friendly and the food is oh so good! Lots of vegetarian selections and you can get a beer too! what more could a person want?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is busy (for Hilo) and loud (for Hilo) but the food is great and very well priced. The owner is a sweetheart! I dont like that you have to clean your own table without a tray. Bathrooms clean, but tables are often not wiped down. Nice area for kids to play while parents dine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pahoaheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious, Friendly Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stopped in Hilo after touring Volcano National Park and were famished. Lucy's hit the spot. It is right next to Subway. Seemed like a favorite for the locals and college students. Great variety on the menu from simple tacos for the kids to huge burritos for the adults. Enjoyed trying the three different salsas on the salsa bar. Food was tasty and staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WITrvlfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You will be happy you went!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Delicious food and lots of it for a fair price. The service was prompt and pleasant and everyone was egar to assist. Try their homemade hibiscus drink, it's unforgettable just like their huge burritos! We will be making the 2 hour drive to Hilo just to have lunch their again!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandmommaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing