We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Mexican food this side of the island. Thank you for coming here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
Ranked #10 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Lucys we try to give you a great all around experience, as well as some good food. We use the freshest ingredient from right here in our backyards to the best of our abilities, supporting our local farmers, ranchers, and fellow business owners. We serve lunch, dinner, and breakfast all day. We have a full bar, as well as ten draft beers on tap. Come in a take a look, or eat, or drink, or eat and drink.... and join the party
Pahoa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food this side of the island. Thank you for coming here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Finally good Mexican food has arrived! Everything is pretty good here. Great salsa bar and Al Pastor. If I had one complaint it would be the size of the Pazole soup bowl is too small.

Coming from Los Angeles, the lack of good Mexican food here on Big Island was a HUGE bummer. It was like an entire food group was missing. Finally the void has been filled.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRoadPunatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    65
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff need to be more aware of food allergies (order taker did not know that flour tortilla shells are made from wheat!). That aside, we found staff to be cheerful and food to be very good quality and value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GranolaGirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just missed the mark, but still pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First, Lucy's is good. Don't get me wrong. The chorizo in my burrito was really delicious and the fish tacos were great. However, the overall burrito experience was lacking due to them forgetting to put in all my goodies. I ordered the burrito especial and didn't get any of the sour cream, cheese, guacamole, none of that. Just the lettuce and tomato, which assured me that they were trying to make me the right thing. Without all the extras, the burrito was just a bit boring. I liked the atmosphere though and would definitely go back for a second try.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Awesome place for some nice mexican food and drinks. Staff is very friendly and food comes out quick. Well worth a visit and a good pick for a downtown Hilo restaurant

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Magnus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyb_ATL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A not to miss foodie experience! It's delish all around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Local joint that will rock your face off with the delish Mexican. Go with the recommendations if the menu is too hard to choose from. We did and it did not disappoint.

Best Mexican outside of Southern California.

Staff is friendly, fast and welcoming of tourists.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judyb_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing