We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food this side of the island. Thank you for coming here!”
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
Ranked #13 of 244 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: At Lucys we try to give you a great all around experience, as well as some good food. We use the freshest ingredient from right here in our backyards to the best of our abilities, supporting our local farmers, ranchers, and fellow business owners. We serve lunch, dinner, and breakfast all day. We have a full bar, as well as ten draft beers on tap. Come in a take a look, or eat, or drink, or eat and drink.... and join the party
Restaurant details
Description: At Lucys we try to give you a great all around experience, as well as some good food. We use the freshest ingredient from right here in our backyards to the best of our abilities, supporting our local farmers, ranchers, and fellow business owners. We serve lunch, dinner, and breakfast all day. We have a full bar, as well as ten draft beers on tap. Come in a take a look, or eat, or drink, or eat and drink.... and join the party
Pahoa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food this side of the island. Thank you for coming here!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Finally good Mexican food has arrived! Everything is pretty good here. Great salsa bar and Al Pastor. If I had one complaint it would be the size of the Pazole soup bowl is too small.

Coming from Los Angeles, the lack of good Mexican food here on Big Island was a HUGE bummer. It was like an entire food group was missing. Finally the void has been filled.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRoadPunatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    84
    28
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff need to be more aware of food allergies (order taker did not know that flour tortilla shells are made from wheat!). That aside, we found staff to be cheerful and food to be very good quality and value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GranolaGirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just missed the mark, but still pretty good”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First, Lucy's is good. Don't get me wrong. The chorizo in my burrito was really delicious and the fish tacos were great. However, the overall burrito experience was lacking due to them forgetting to put in all my goodies. I ordered the burrito especial and didn't get any of the sour cream, cheese, guacamole, none of that. Just the lettuce and tomato, which assured me that they were trying to make me the right thing. Without all the extras, the burrito was just a bit boring. I liked the atmosphere though and would definitely go back for a second try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Awesome place for some nice mexican food and drinks. Staff is very friendly and food comes out quick. Well worth a visit and a good pick for a downtown Hilo restaurant

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magnus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyb_ATL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A not to miss foodie experience! It's delish all around.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Local joint that will rock your face off with the delish Mexican. Go with the recommendations if the menu is too hard to choose from. We did and it did not disappoint.

Best Mexican outside of Southern California.

Staff is friendly, fast and welcoming of tourists.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judyb_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing