We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mochi by the box”
Review of Two Ladies Kitchen

Two Ladies Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mochi by the box”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Walk in order your mochi and walk out with a box of some very unusual treats. Impossible to describe you just have to try it. I recommend the fresh strawberry, butter mochi, and grape. Actually liked all the ones sampled. Very small store with just enough room to order. Be prepared for a long list of flavors. You can order boxes of 6, 12 and etc. I found a list of available flavors online if you want to look at that first.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    50
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Tiny storefront holds delicious mochi”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This tiny storefront has the most delicious mochi I've ever enjoyed! The variety is amazing and ranges from classic (red bean) to new twists (marshmallow). I have never had mochi so tender and distinctive. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Hilo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galaxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
831 reviews
601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Fresh-made mochi are unbeatable”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Note: this is not a a place to sit down and sip tea with mochi. You pick them up and eat them elsewhere. For example, across the street in the wonderful park.

The place specializes in mochi, their selection ranges from traditional to what I would almost call eclectic.The fresh-fruit filled mochi are to die for (e.g., grape or strawberry). The condensed milk one is sinful. And the sweet potato one not sweet, i.e., perfect. Overall a must if you are in Hilo!

The place is tiny, but if it is not too crowded, you can see the staff making mochi in the background.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rockin' mochi! Desserts only.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Mochi is a love-hate kind of dessert, you either love it or hate it. I love it, and Two Ladies Kitchen has the best by far. It's very authentic with the very best strawberry mochis anywhere. The grape, lilikoi, and chocolate marshmallow are pillowy, sweet clouds of perfection.

The service is good. I have read about lines, but it never has been crowded during my frequent visits to Two Ladies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquimbo, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it is not a restaurant!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This little store sell the best mochi , for me arround the Big Island of Hawai'i.
It is not a reastaurant really, they sell mochi that is,but if any body come to Hilo , this place is a "must"

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 355Ivonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Ladies Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Two Ladies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing