We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best mochi of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Two Ladies Kitchen

Two Ladies Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best mochi of my life”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was phenomenal. My partner and I rushed to this place in the evening from the Kona side during our honeymoon and technically, they were closed. But because they were still packing up and the lights were on, they allowed us as an exception to purchase some of the mochi. The strawberry, grape, and butter mochi are by far the best I have ever had in my life. Huge succulent strawberries in a delicious bean paste inside the fluffiest, most delectable mochi wrapping I've ever tasted. The butter mochi is airy and fluffy and cakey yet substantial and delicious.

I will come again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinYWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    49
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic confections”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This little place is a treasure. Their wide varietry of flavors means they have something for everyone. If you have a particular flavor you like, and want a whole box (20 pc.), order ahead.
My wife ordered 2 boxes of Okinawan Sweet Poatao mochi to take in to work. Everyone loved them.

They're closed on Sun and Mon, and it's cash only.

If you're in Hilo, you gotta hit this place, and the Farmer's Market.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great chichi Mocci”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I think it's great Mocci .The hours and days open are irregular and when they are open they often have little to choose from.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but not great. ”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This moochie is definitely made fresh to order. It tasted good but not something to rave about. You can either order the boxed moochie in the front or order a la carte.

Helpful?
Thank BKFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We'll come back to Hilo just for this!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The mochi at Two Ladies was so incredible! It's high on our list of places to revisit the next time we're on the Big Island. Definitely plan to wait a while for your order if you're getting the strawberry mochi, but it's totally worth the wait. We're looking forward to trying more varieties next time. This is a really special culinary experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank maria_and_carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Ladies Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Two Ladies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing