We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Strawberry Mochi is the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Ladies Kitchen

Two Ladies Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Strawberry Mochi is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We thought it was a little better the last time we were here - 3 years ago.

Course, we came during Merrie Monarch this time, so the kitchen was probably hopping more than usual.

Still pretty good and the best of course - the fresh strawberry mochi.

We'll be stopping again next time we are in Hilo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    47
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“MOCHI HEAVEN IN HILO!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have visited Hilo a couple of time prior to this visit and only this time we have decided to research on the internet the best place for kochi.
The first place that came up was the Two Ladies Kitchen.I have read some of the reviews and once in Hilo we decided to give it a try.
The place it is really small inside and warm. The staff which I believe is all part of the family business is very friendly and accommodating. We order the most popular ones, Strawberries, Graps and Peanuts. We had to wait for approximately 10 minutes and there was only a few people ahead of me. I could not understand why I had to wait but believe that the reason is that they were making it to order!!!!!!!
As you can see from the picture they look delicious. They are the best mochi that I ever had. The texture of the dough was like eating velvet and the combination with fresh fruit like strawberry and grape was delicious they are worth it. Truly since I have been back to NEW YORK I have been trying to find a mochi that can compare without any luck.

KUDOS to you TWO LADIES KITCHEN....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ILSOGNATORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I was in town for a wedding.this was an amazing stop i went here with a friend who is a hawwian native he is well know in this c”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a wedding.this was an amazing stop i went here with a friend who is a hawwian native he is well know in this communty they gave us extra treats

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must try mochi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Their strawberry mochi is the best. It is made fresh and so delicious! The thin layer of chocolate covering the strawberry was just heavenly in this mochi. They have other types of mochi that are all very tasty. They are not just tasty, they are visually very pretty too. We always stop by the Two Ladies Kitchen whenever we are in Hilo.

They have the best mochi around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Know Mochi? You Will Love it Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Go there every time we are in Hilo. Their creativity is only exceeded by the quality. Be sure to try the strawberry mochi. A fresh island strawberry surrounded by an and mochi.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dennis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Ladies Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Two Ladies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing