We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“MOCHI HEAVEN IN HILO!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Ladies Kitchen

Two Ladies Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 12 Dessert in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“MOCHI HEAVEN IN HILO!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have visited Hilo a couple of time prior to this visit and only this time we have decided to research on the internet the best place for kochi.
The first place that came up was the Two Ladies Kitchen.I have read some of the reviews and once in Hilo we decided to give it a try.
The place it is really small inside and warm. The staff which I believe is all part of the family business is very friendly and accommodating. We order the most popular ones, Strawberries, Graps and Peanuts. We had to wait for approximately 10 minutes and there was only a few people ahead of me. I could not understand why I had to wait but believe that the reason is that they were making it to order!!!!!!!
As you can see from the picture they look delicious. They are the best mochi that I ever had. The texture of the dough was like eating velvet and the combination with fresh fruit like strawberry and grape was delicious they are worth it. Truly since I have been back to NEW YORK I have been trying to find a mochi that can compare without any luck.

KUDOS to you TWO LADIES KITCHEN....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ILSOGNATORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    45
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I was in town for a wedding.this was an amazing stop i went here with a friend who is a hawwian native he is well know in this c”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a wedding.this was an amazing stop i went here with a friend who is a hawwian native he is well know in this communty they gave us extra treats

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must try mochi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Their strawberry mochi is the best. It is made fresh and so delicious! The thin layer of chocolate covering the strawberry was just heavenly in this mochi. They have other types of mochi that are all very tasty. They are not just tasty, they are visually very pretty too. We always stop by the Two Ladies Kitchen whenever we are in Hilo.

They have the best mochi around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Know Mochi? You Will Love it Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Go there every time we are in Hilo. Their creativity is only exceeded by the quality. Be sure to try the strawberry mochi. A fresh island strawberry surrounded by an and mochi.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dennis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mochi!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I just HAD to make a stop here. One of my dog's name is "Mochi" haha.

Anyway, yes of course we had to try the famous strawberry mochi. OMG, that thing is HUGE and heavy. MMMM so soft with a humongous strawberry & red bean in the center. It's so soft that you don't even half to chew. haha. Halfway through, I didn't think I could finish the whole thing. Mochi overdose... I'm gonna be sick... lol
My husband liked it as well.

We also got an assortment box.
OOH, they have chocolate filled mochi and peanut butter filled ones too... yum yum!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Ladies Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Two Ladies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing