We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Mochi ever!”
Review of Two Ladies Kitchen

Two Ladies Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Mochi ever!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a treat! This small store front wouldn't be noticed by most, but inside is the best mochi we've ever had. Try the fresh strawberry mochi when in season.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    49
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My 2 favorites: Peanut Butter Mochi and Strawberry Mochi”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I saw the reviews on this website and knew this would be a great place to get a snack; a little expensive but well worth it.

My family bought a box set with a variety of mochi and then a box of 6 strawberry. I think it came out to a little over $20

I loved the peanut butter mochi in the variety box. It is very soft on the outside and with a little bit of crunch in the inside.

Then we waited a bit for strawberry because it was still being made. There is a whole strawberry inside. As you bite through the rice layer, then I think it was chocolate, and finally the strawberry. It was BETTER then chocolate dipped strawberries. The mochi was still warm.

We immediately ate the strawberry mochi in our rental car parked because it was so fresh!!!

I would go back again just for fresh strawberry mochi

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SailingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Creativity of Two Ladies”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

These two ladies have taken creative deserts to a new level and it is just plain fun to go int and smell and look around the different sweets...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rev Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful to eat; great to give as gifts.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went to this place based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor. They were right on about the delicious mochi. Had to have the strawberry ones. I thought I was going to eat some of the boxed mochi assortments and manju, but my husband gave them for gifts before I got to eat any. Some reviewers mentioned getting there early to beat the crowds or ordering ahead. We went in the late afternoon and there were only a few people picking up orders and they had a whole tray of the strawberry mochi refrigerated in the back. Maybe it depends on the time of year.

We will definitely go back again, and I will hide a box for myself!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We pre-ordered a box of strawberry mochi. It's wonderfully delicious.
I love the mochi texture, the not-over-sweet azuki bean paste, and the fresh strawberry. Each mochi is handcrafted with care. If you refrigerate it well, the mochi will last for 2-3 days.
They have varieties of mochi that we didn't get to try.
A box of strawberry mochi (6) can cost you about $18++ but it's really worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Ladies Kitchen also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Two Ladies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing