We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with AMAZING ice cream”
Review of Hilo Homemade Ice Cream - CLOSED

Hilo Homemade Ice Cream
Restaurant details
iflyalotornot
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with AMAZING ice cream”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Freaking amazing ice cream.

Not your typical ice cream joint. Kinda out of the way, Meaning out of the touristy area, which I love. Wasn't sure if my smart phone was taking me to the right place but I put my trust in Siri a d glad I did.

Cool little hipster place with a dozen or so flavours of ice cream. The ones I settled on, Lilikoi Cheesecake and Ginger.

You can sit in the back where we discovered a tropical garden and enjoyed our ice cream as well as amazing tropical flowering trees and flowers.

This place is a hidden gem and worth the trip. I'll be back!!

Helpful?
Thank iflyalotornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great ice cream”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I loved the macadamia nut ice cream and the fresh lilikoi berry. I tried many flavors and was never disappointed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank itzgigi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were told not to get ice cream on the islands because of the cost but this was totally worth it! My son had the coffee ice cream which was made with fresh local coffee beans. He said it was amazing. I had mac nut, which was also amazing, and my husband had pineapple, which he loved. Great place to take a break and just enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Hawaii...most reasonably priced also”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had the Salted caramel mac nut, Kona coffee, Mud pie, Tahitian Vanilla. All four were delicious. Best ice cream we had in Hawaii...and we like ice cream. We wandered around the garden in the back while we enjoyed our ice cream.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B & L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Ice cream ever”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stopped here for icecream and it was the best ever. I had the chocolate macadamia nut fantastic. All the flavors we sampled were great. After getting our ice cream we went out back and enjoyed the beautiful garden area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing