We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Yum! Ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Homemade Ice Cream - CLOSED

Hilo Homemade Ice Cream
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum! Ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What better place to have ice cream than when you're hot and in Hawaii? This ice cream is very good. I especially like the coconut flavor and have to have it every time we visit there. The ginger is really good, too. Living in Cincinnati, people love Graeter's,and in Hawaii, you can get shave ice in lots of flavors, but I'll take Hilo Homemade.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jinnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stopped in here our first day to ask directions to our accommodation and were greater by friendly helpful people and went back the next day for some yummy ice cream. There were lots of favors to chose from and we were invited to enjoy our selections in the back garden with some cats chicken and fish :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ice cream and backyard gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

they were out of the banana mac nut brownie ice cream, but we had the mudslide, kona coffee and coconut ice creams and they were lovely! we strolled through the old botanical gardens and learned about the plants while eating our yummy ice cream. it is definitely off the beaten track and a homespun experience to have!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were told by our hosts at the B&B try this ice cream. We arrived before opening time and they happily asked us in and made us feel so welcome whilst we ate the most delicious ice cream would recommend a stop here

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Broke my diet for this, and worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Yummy flavors--besides the Kona coffee, had a banana macadamia nut fudge--which tasted like a homemade banana split

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank g0ingthered0ingthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing