We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonstruck Patisserie

Moonstruck Patisserie
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Moonstruck Patisserie is a bakery specializing in European pastries and desserts. Breakfast features a full line of croissants, quiche, rock buns, French press coffee and a full line of loose teas. Moonstruck also features Hilo's finest desserts - custom European style cakes and cheesecakes. Our customers also rave about our iced coffee and ginger peach tea.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

At the risk of restating the previous review...the quiche is the best I have ever had! The owner/baker is delightful. The French press coffee was a welcome respite from other restaurants serving overly acidic coffee. The place should be on scribes list!

Helpful?
1 Thank guemesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    15
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best desserts ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Found this place by chance and so glad we did!!! Amazing desserts. Fully recommend. Also tried out the quiche and the iced tea both of which were excellent. We could make out the food was made by a professional chef and baker

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“REAL Food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

An extraordinary selection in this hole in the wall bakery and cafe -- I'm particularly fond of their quiche, a pot of freshly brewed coffee -- that's freshly brewed for each order -- and a slice of Almond Therese for dessert plus some croissant to take home for breakfast.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy pastry, good drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Had the quiche (about $6), each is an individual size, the crust was light and flaky. Iced tea and coffee were good as well. Only a few tables, but most of the food is just as good "to go". Owner was a pastry chef at a Ritz - so you're in for a treat!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravels2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Clean! Refreshing for HIlo! We wish she would do sandwiches Too! Cute decor and great treats.......Very good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstruck Patisserie also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moonstruck Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing