We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,077)
Filter reviews
2,077 results
Traveler rating
391
840
637
150
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
840
637
150
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut island ocean view queen's court seafood buffet banyan trees mauna kea the big island banyan drive liliuokalani gardens bit dated japanese garden beautiful park national park close to the airport an older hotel ken's pancake house stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 2,077 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Without knowing much about the history of Hilo, a long-ago boom must have necessitated the building of the enormous Castle Hilo hotel. Like something out of the TV series Madmen, what appears to be a 1960s-era build feels incongruous to the small-town feel of Hilo. It has seemingly been occasionally updated over the years but perhaps not so recently. Overlooking a tranquil bay with islands and views of the opposite coastline, rooms are large and feature a flat screen TV, mini fridge, small tub/stand-in shower, balcony with seating and table as well as complimentary filter coffee (but not a particularly tasty variety). Ice machines are every second floor and in-room aircon is effective. A large outdoor pool makes for good swimming and sun baking, car parking is on-site and free, and there are (untried) dining options. The foyer is enormous and features helpful staff, wifi was complimentary. Cleanliness was generally good but the overall vibe was dated. The hotel is located a bit of a distance from the Hilo town centre (about a 3-5 minute drive), amid sizeable and picturesque parklands that some may feel a little uneasy walking through after dark. A liquor store is located directly outside the hotel and there are a few other bars and hotels in close, walkable proximity, but none were investigated.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank KICon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night. Last time I was in Hilo it rained the whole time so we only had one night planned so splurged for bay side with lanai. The rainbow we got made it all worth it!!! Got a massage at the Banyan Massage on ground level outside hotel that was amazing and last minute. Love that coconut island and Japanese Garden right there. Walked to Hilo Bay Cafe for dinner. Drove 10 minutes in morning to various parks to snorkel. I love that it’s a slightly older hotel, great character, friendly staff. They have a laundry room which was where we planned to do laundry on our trip, only one dryer was working and clothes only partially dry, small inconvenience. Enjoyed the pool area and Banyan Trees. I’d stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank LKS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

A few reviews and the reasonable price made me reluctant to book this hotel. It turned out great for our stay. The rooms were clean and exactly as pictured with a really great view. The grounds and nearby lagoon were impressive. The lobby does have a vintage vibe...something from old movies, but in the best way - open air, lots of marble, leather, etc. We found the experienced staff a great source of information. Many hotels feel like they could be anywhere; this felt like we were in Hawaii.

Room Tip: the view of the ocean is beautiful
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annW1984WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017

We found this hotel to be pretty much as advertised, so our one night stay was comfortable. The downside, though, was that overall this facility and it's staff seem a bit worn and tired. We had a long bicycle ride to the hotel and were eager to jump into the pool. We asked about towels and were told housekeeping was near the pool and we could pick up towels there. We never found housekeeping. A sign near the pool indicated all users had to have hotel wrist bands (something we found true at other hotels in Hawai'i), but nobody else had them either. The pool itself was OK, just small and not very well maintained. It was crowded even though there were few others there. We went for a beer afterwards and the serving staff was competent at best. The bed was comfortable enough. The buffet breakfast spread was impressive, but really just had the usual stuff. The scrambled eggs had an odd, unusually slick texture. Once again, the serving staff was competent, but seemingly tired.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twocranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

A lovely room. Situated on Hilo Bay, close to the downtown area. Comfortable bed, sliding doors that opened onto a small porch, with a view of the street and all the greenery. A quiet air conditioner. There are lots of coqui frogs - I like them but some people don't - but with the doors closed they were barely audible. The staff were friendly and efficient. Parking on the property was free, and I always found a bay. There was nothing to criticize, except that I ate once in the hotel restaurant and it was mediocre; there are better places nearby.

I will definitely return to this hotel the next time I am in Hilo.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews