We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vast Improvement over Previous Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
sf bay area
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Vast Improvement over Previous Years”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We go regularly to visit relatives and have stayed here almost yearly. The rooms are so much nicer with the renovations and new furniture, especially the beds. The service provided by workers was good. For a change, the weather was mostly sunny during a stay so the Queen Liliuokalani Gardens was nice to walk around and the clear views of Mauna Kea were fantatic. The main bummer is that they still don't provide free wifi in the rooms and the free service in the lobby area requires logging on every time. In addition, their coffee shop charges significantly higher prices for coffee than the places just a few steps away in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnoSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    704
    561
    135
    51
See reviews for
502
715
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I totally agree with the reviewers who have stayed here since the remodel. I have usually cringed when we travel to Hilo and need to stay overnight. No more. There are wonderful B &
B's here but they are expensive. This week we stayed at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. The hotel company is at the end of an expansive remodel from top to bottom. The locale cannot be beat. The guest rooms are large and expertly remodeled. Each room has a small balcony with a table and chairs to enjoy a book and a view. We woke to a cruise ship making its way from the sea around Hilo Bay and inside the sea wall to the port which is around the point from the hotel. The staff is friendly and public areas and restaurant and lounge also nice. My only criticism as that free Wii-fi is only available in the public areas.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a bay view room. Hilo Bay is gorgeous and if you will lucky you will be ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShirleyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am a semi-regular at the Hilo Hawaiian, and this was my first stay after the renovation. What a difference! The new beds and bed linen are wonderful, the bathrooms up to date, and my room still had that "new car smell." Finally, the rooms match the high level of service I have always received. There is no better place to stay in Hilo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadWearyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location was good, right next to a beautiful park full of banyan trees. We had an ocean view, which we enjoyed from our lanai. The front desk clerks were helpful and efficient. The bartender the evening we were there was very kind and professional, even though she was very busy. Our server at dinner was professional, as were her assistants. The room was one of the remodeled ones, and it was lovely. We only stayed one night, but I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel! So open and airy, just like a Hawaiian hotel should be. We were the first to stay in a newly renovated room & it was so nice!! Big room with a beautiful view of the water. Wish we could of stayed longer, but had reservations in Kona for the rest of our vacation. The staff was so very nice. Great bar with a fabulous band. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A must to have a renovated room and water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIRATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ended up at this hotel during the US Government shutdown, whilst the Volcanoes National Park was closed. The reception staff were excellent and offered us a displacement rate, of $160 a night, although they had no affiliation with the previous hotel. We were most impressed.

We requested a high floor (8th) and were privy to magnificent views over Hilo Bay and Coconut Island. These rooms all have balconies.

The rooms have recently been refurbished and were comfortable, although the bathrooms are dated.

As a transit hotel it was fine. Located on Banyan Drive, you are across and adjacent to some magnificent Banyan trees planted by Cecil B DeMille, Franklin Roosevelt, Babe Ruth, King George V etc and many famous others. The Japanese Gardens are next door and Coconut Island on the Ocean Side of the Hotel.

The hotel is about 3 minutes in the car to the township.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0nstantlyOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a newly renovated room on the 6th floor that would compete with any nicer hotel on the mainland. Large room, new furniture, new flat screen TV, comfortable mattress, new carpet and tile, and thick drapes to made the room nice and dark. There was also a small balcony with table and chairs. The room and bathroom were both well cleaned. It is close to the airport and easy to find which is what we wanted since we were arriving in the dark after 8PM and had never been to Hilo before. Parking was no issue. The night we arrived we were able to get a spot right out front of the lobby. Like many buildings in Hawaii it has a beautiful open lobby design. Check-in and check-out were quick and with no issues. Both the lobby and cleaning staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Our room had a parking lot view which was fine by us since we were just here to sleep for one night. Check out is noon, which is wonderful as it allows for some morning visiting into Hilo before you have to check out. The hotel is just a short walk from Liliuokalani Gardens and Coconut Island. Without a lot of choices in the area, the price was fine for what we got. Of the true hotels in Hilo, I’d have to say this is the best. If I had known in advance how nice the room and hotel were we would have stayed an extra few days. I’ll definitely stay here next time we visit Hilo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwbroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing