We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you upgrade, we did.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location was great. We booked a superior room and asked for ocean views. On arrival we were that it would cost us and extra $15.00 per night for the ocean views thus we paid it was worth it. Staff were good, courtesy car I to Hilo town or airport very accommodating. Pool area not so good needs about if live and attention.upgrade of hotel in progress, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of my favorite hotels ever! Open lobby design. Modern building, well designed bar area and restaurant facing the water, wonderful restaurant, with the best seafood buffet I have ever seen anywhere in the world! The pool is outdoor and depending on the weather could be a relaxing venue. Love it here!

Room Tip: Request room facing the bay side.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpeedTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a modern hotel with a beautiful lobby , a small quaint bar with a dance floor and an amazing all you can eat seafood buffet - the best in the world I have ever seen - alcohol is included in the price. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the bay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenCoconut224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Comfortable, clean, no frills. A good option for an overnight stay. Pleasant views from the restaurant. The staff are friendly and always tried to be helpful - although the cafe service forgot at least 3 of the items we had ordered and one never arrived at all by the time we were leaving (on the positive side they did not try to charge for it!). The best thing about this place is banyan massage hale. Best massage I've ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

While the room is very large, you have to ask for a hair dryer. In room refrigerator under the bathroom counter. NOT close to restaurants. No van service. Several pop machines do not work an I was told they have not worked for a long time. Nice views on either side of hotel. Food was left in the refrigerator an it was turned completely off so before putting anything inside I had to turn it on and let run for a while to cool. Housekeeping staff is very friendly and helpful. I loved hearing the frogs all night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Don't look for the name "Castle" when trying to find this place as it is known as simple the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. My GPS address was right but I was confused. This place has a great location near the Hilo airport and Highway 19 and the Banyan Drive area is nice but don't get your hopes for a new or newly remodeled hotel.

Location: Great location if you want an easy in and out from the airport and do not want to get caught in the downtown Hilo traffic. The Banyan drive area is really nice and offers some walking distance views of Hilo and Reeds Bays. Also, views from upper floors and bar are good. Worth the short walk to Coconut Island Park just near the hotel on Hilo Bay for the views.

Accommodations: Like the hotel itself, the room I stayed in was adequate with all the usual conveniences, newer flat screen TV and nice covered lanai but was aging. Finishes and furnishings were starting to show some wear. The place was clean so no issues there but just not new. Parking is a bit a premium with limited and narrow parking spots on the lobby level with additional parking on the lower level.

Service: All staff encountered were nice and efficient with check-in/-out. I had drinks in the bar and bartender was very good and informative as to the area, things to do and see as well as avoid. Also, the band playing in the bar (apparently a typical Friday night gig for them) had the crowd entertained and played several requests for stereotypical 'Hawaiian' music (e.g., not traditional Hawaiian music) but the crowd was happy.

For the price, I half to think there are better choices in the area that offer equivalent scenic views, especially if you are traveling for pleasure/vacation. If you are looking for a 'one night stand' for business travel this is a reasonable choice and convenient location to the Hilo airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing Mauna Kea or Mauna Loa.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently spent one night at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. I have to say that I honestly have no idea what the negative reviews are talking about! We got a newly renovated room on the 8th floor, non-ocean side. It was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. No free wifi in the room ($10 per day to get) but not a problem for one night and we could use our phones. There is free wifi in the lobby, though. The breakfast buffet at the restaurant ($11 for continental breakfast and $18 per person for full breakfast but they give you one $5 off coupon) was fantastic! They had soups, fruits, cereal, juices, sausage, eggs, bacon, toast, basically every breakfast food you can think of. Would be kind of expensive to do daily, but totally worth it for one day.

There was no hair dryer in the room which I thought was odd, but probably could have gotten one at the front desk if I had asked. The area is great, and is a very short walk to Coconut Island and some of the scenic areas of Hilo.

I would certainly not hesitate to stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybee313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: $120 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing