We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Hilo with the newly remodeled rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Tacoma, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Hilo with the newly remodeled rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Hawaii 3 times a year for work. I always hated going to Hilo b/c the hotels frankly are horrible: outdated, musty and old. Still the best hotel here was the Hilo Hawaiian. I am very pleased to say the newly remodeled rooms are fantastic! I stayed on the 7th floor in a superior room for 149. They are still working on other floors so be sure to ask for the remodeled room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sticklert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    682
    552
    133
    50
See reviews for
482
694
78
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Beautiful views and s great location, the gardens next door and coconut island are so nice for a morning walk, saw a turtle our first morning as well as wild mongoose. Hotel is very nice, very friendly staff, well priced and delicious food. Will be back on our next Big Island holiday

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is great to stay at, if you are going to go to Hilo. The rooms are clean and quiet and the air conditioner works. The staff are small town people, so they are very helpful and friendly, as long as you don't put pressure on them. The view from the beach side is great. Coconut island is close by, and you can just cross the bridge and leap from the diving tower right into the ocean. There is not much to do at night in Hilo, so my advice is to wake up early and go to sleep early.

If you eat at the restaurant in the morning, the buffet is not a bad deal. Most of the ala cart menu items with coffee add up to being only maybe $2 to 3 cheaper than the buffet, so I would suggest you just get the full buffet or the cheaper continental breakfast if you don't need meat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel UV Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

They were not able to accommodate any new rooms for my party of 10. We had 3 rooms that were musty, smelly, and wallpaper peeling. Although I didnt purchase a water view room, I didnt expect a view of the top of the hotel awning with cigarette butts and puddles. There is no fridge, hairdryer on request and ice machine are located on certain floors. If you park your car near the trees which seem like hundreds of beds, do expect a mess on your car. It is definitely overprice for any rooms that are not renovated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyJ2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Aloha! Please accept my apologies for any deficiencies you experienced with our rooms during your recent visit. It is unfortunate you were not able to reserve one of our renovated rooms. We are currently working on 92 rooms and have completed 183. By the end of October we should be completed with all 286 rooms and corridors. We currently do not have any non-ocean view rooms available as they have either been renovated or are under renovation as we speak. My apologies as I am not able to check on your concerns.

My apologies again and I hope to be able to service you again on your next visit to our islands.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilo hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Most buildings on the Big Island appear cheaply constructed to me. Combine that with the constant onslaught of the elements on the Hilo side of the island and architecture quickly deteriorates. The constant battle to maintain a building is universally evident. The Castle hotel is no different. The architecture is dated, but it's been well maintained especially the common areas such as the lobby and restaurants. If you consider the general rule that everything in Hawaii is twice as expensive as it would be on the mainland, then $160 per night and $40 for a dinner buffet don't seem too unreasonable. The $18 breakfast buffet had a nice variety of fare and good food quality (Wife actually raved about the french toast). The rooms were small but comfortable. If you plan to stay here ask for room on the water side, otherwise you'll end up with a view of the parking lot from your lanai.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The customer service was excellent which i was relieved to find out as i have heard that the Native's can be kind of off putting. Beautiful view. The rooms were nice and the ocean views were even better. Kept the door open to the balcony that over looked the ocean just so i could hear it the outdoors. Also the weather is perfect so this caused no discomfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a good ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I know the reviews of this hotel are mixed, but it seemed like the best of a lot of mediocre choices in Hilo. Fortunately, our experience was all positive. The setting is truly spectacular - fantastic views of the bay, city and the volcano in the distance (when the clouds parted). The room was refurbished and in fine shape - no complaints at all. The balcony was a great hangout, particularly in the evenings. We were also able to walk to some very nice restaurants or, failing that, it is a very short drive into the city. Hilo itself is a lot of fun - very "old Hawaiian" with lots of charm and interesting shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
55.1 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing