We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's a date hotel that is under going some renovations. The price was a bit high considering what we were paying and what we got in Waikoloa but the renderings for what they hotel may look like looks promising. The water view was amazing, parking was free, internet in the room after paying for it was terrible and a waste of money (not wireless either), the tour desk and staff were very helpful. The location is ideal with a park, beach and swimming within walking distance from the property. The one real advantage to the water view was entertained by the kids and adults diving off the bridge and tower on Coconut Island Park while performing spins, flips and the occasional flop into the water.

Room Tip: The water view is stunning. Internet was terrible. Didn't try squatting in the lobby but that mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    705
    561
    136
    51
See reviews for
502
715
81
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here 6 July for 2 nights in a new One bedroom Oceanview room. Was a little worried about other reviews read on TA but was so relieved to see our new updated room. And it was huge. We had a room on the end so had views out to the ocean and to the pool with two balconies. The bedroom part of the room (which is seperate to the other room) had two queen beds and a large flatscreen TV. The lounge/kitchen also had a large flatscreen dining room table and 6 chairs and a little kitchen with fridge, microwave and proper plates cups etc not throw away ones.
I would definitely stay here again. Didn't eat here and spent all day away from the hotel but was nice clean and new to get back to after a long day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been done up and an end room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
576 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stay at the Hilo Hawaiian each and every time we visit the Big Island. To those guests who busy themselves taking photos of the dresser drawers, the curtains, power outlets, etc, may I suggest that the Four Seasons on the west side of the Big Island may be more to your liking. Is the Hilo Hawaiian a 5 star property? Definitely not but it possesses a degree of charm that is in keeping with Hilo town itself. If one requires the rarified atmosphere that can be found at various properties dotted up and down the Kona coast, I say good for them. Let them book themselves into those properties. By so doing, those of us who appreciate the quiet charm of the HIlo Hawaiian will find the place less crowded.
Other reviewers have offered many spot-on observations about the location of the Hilo Hawaiian along Banyan Drive, the beauty of the adjacent Queen Liliuokalani Gardens, the fun little nearby Coconut Island and the views of Hilo town across the bay from the hotel and and of Mauna Kea in the distance. I agree with all of these.
The hotel is in the process of a very nice, and admittedly long overdue renovation. They started on the 7th and 8th floors right after the Merry Monarch festival. Workers began working on the 6th floor while we were there in late June and early July.Work began then on the 6th floor right after the 8th floor was completed and released for guest occupancy. I've added a photo of poster the hotel has placed in the lobby which shows the improvements that are taking place. I think even the naysayers will agree that the improvements are very nice.
Tip: For as long as I can remember, the 7th and 8th floors have been the smoking floors. The front desk told me that after the renovation ONLY the 8th floor will be smoking and even there, smoking will be allowed only on the balconies (good luck enforcing that last part!). So that means another entire floor, and a high one at that, available to non-smokers.
A terrific hotel gets even better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tupelo010835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is your standard Hotel, The view was beautiful
It has a nice connection to the local area, Service was great,
Very close to the a (local favourite ) park on an island with a bridge,
I loved watching all the happy people swimming and picnicking
We stayed in a renovated room for $30 extra, new carpet, linen , bathroom, balcony furniture
AC was very noisy but they sent a guy up to fix it in 3 minutes. He just had to open door to ancient unit and wiggle it to stop it rocking.
I really liked this hotel

Room Tip: Only one side has view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkfromMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Came into Hilo for a wedding and stayed for one night. Hotel appeared sold out on Orbitz, Expedia, and all of those booking sites, but I went directly to the hotel's website and found a room.

This place seems to be as good as it gets in Hilo. Decor and furnishings in the rooms were quite dated, but the hotel was beginning renovations so I am hopeful that accommodations will be better in the near future.

Not the nicest or the cleanest place I have ever stayed, but customer service at the front desk was superb. Upon arriving, I discovered that an iron and ironing board was missing from my room, and I really needed one to get ready for the wedding--I called downstairs and they delivered the items to my room immediately.

Don't expect the Ritz. But it's definitely not horrible. Compared to the rest of what's out there, this would be my choice again if ever again I visit Hilo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_c83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's located next to Coconut island park and Liliuokalani Gardens where you can stroll after dinner.
The name at the hotel wasn't 'Castle Hilo', so took me a while to find it.
Deluxe Ocean View room has a good balcony overlooking water Hilo bay & Coconut park.
Overall rooms are a bit dated, but they mentioned about remodeling.

Pros: Location
Cons: No free Internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch2001Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We knew going in that this was not a 5 star hotel. The property is on a terrific street. The park is close, there is a picnic & swimming area and the banyan trees are amazing. I felt safe running by myself (middle aged woman) in the morning to the downtown area 2 miles away.
The room was average. There wasn't internet in the room, but the lobby. The bathroom had a screen instead of a door. We knew that there would be construction during our stay. It started before 9am.
I would maybe stay here again because of the location. The whole town of Hilo is not very touristy. We chose Hilo because of its proximity to the Volcano National Park.
We got massages in the same building - relaxing.
We went to the farmers' market twice and had a ball seeing the different types of products.

Room Tip: An ocean view room wasn't available, but sitting on the side with the street wasn't bad. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing