We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never go back here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will never go back here!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place is the "worst" hotel we have stayed. I understand that its "outdated and definitely a blast from the past" which is OK! What is not acceptable is the efficiency of the people running this establishment. Rooms are semi-cleaned and wifi are only available at the lobby. In terms of your safety I dunno if having a "Senior Security Staff" lurking around would be considered safe! as the hotel is pretty much an open lobby any insane or crazy person would be able to enter "which I hope never happens" Overall Staff should be replace as they are all "Relic of the past" Changes should be made... Only positive things about this place are (1) Very close proximity to the Hilo Airport (2) Yes it is Affordable but think about the quality of service you will be getting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Please accept my apologies for any service deficiencies you may have experienced during your recent visit. I only wish that we had been notified so that we could have corrected the situation and made your stay more enjoyable.

Take care,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    694
    557
    135
    51
See reviews for
493
706
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Best hotel in area. Has a good restaurant and excellent staff. Rooms are comfortable but lack a refrigerator. Parking is adequate but lots are small. Buffet breakfast is good. Location is between airport and old city. Hilo does not have many good hotels, and this one is one of the better choices.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poiboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We double booked at this hotel (we were staying in Waikoloa) because we knew we'd need the time with everything we wanted to do on the Hilo side of the island. This was a solid choice to lay our heads down. While the hotel is older, and the rooms are in need of some updating, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. We had a fine stay. Strongly recommend the ocean side rooms, as the view was spectacular. This hotel wouldn't be my first choice, but it was not a bad stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pghtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We only stayed here for one night…that was enough!
I must admit it was pouring with rain when we arrived so we didn't see it in its best light…and it DID improve the next day when the weather was glorious and so we could see the beautiful surroundings across the bay…

However, it was not the cleanest hotel, but is located in a lovely part of town, adjacent to some delightful Japanese Gardens…

Is there anywhere in USA that DOESN'T serve dishwater masquerading as coffee??? I'm yet to find a good espresso on Hawaii!

Room Tip: we opted for a top floor room for some peace and quiet…it was perfect…we were badly jet-lagged but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hilo itself is quite a run down city. So you can understand why the hotels don't spend money in keeping the rooms up to date. We only stayed one night since we drove over from Kona to see the volcanos. I think due to the humidity and moisture there is a mold issue that is causing the odor many people have noted in there reviews. I noticed it also immediately. The rooms are very dated and worn. There are not many other options in Hilo other than some B&B's. We checked out the pool and it was also very disappointing with bugs floating in it. I can't say there are better hotels in Hilo to go to but I can say with confidence this place is not one to go to. I am not a hotel snob. I was not expecting the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. For the $100 I paid at least get me to the standards of a Ramada!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwheels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Aloha! Please accept my apologies for any deficiency you experienced during your recent visit with us. Living in the tropics with very high humidity levels does pose many challenges. Economic challenges also hindered our normal progress. However, our owners decided to upgrade our facilities starting from the meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge, & elevators in 2010 & 2011 and now the guest rooms and corridors. Our refreshing of our guest rooms will begin on the 29th of this month till the end of October. It will be a challenge till it is completed but once done I am sure you will all be very pleased. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and regain your confidence.

Sincerely

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Arranged adjoining rooms for wife and I and children/grandchildren on upper floor over Easter Week-end. Stunning view of the harbor/small island/passing vessels/cruise ship. Adult children enjoyed morning run around the property over bridge & around small island. Staff friendly and considerate with resturant wait staff extremely accomodating. Clean rooms with housekeeping following up with us when we left the 'do not disturb' sign up during cleaning period and then came later.

Perfect location for traveling the east side of the island.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdBarbC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is older but clean and comfortable and seemingly the nicest on this side of the island!!! The other hotels around this one look dicey.
Rooms are decent size and clean, beds mostly comfortable, pillows quite squishy (negative), good water pressure in shower, good a/c, and ocean view rooms have nice view of ocean and Coconut Island. All rooms seem to have a nice patio for 2 with chairs and a table. Spend the money on the ocean view! Staff at check in very helpful and friendly. Housekeepers friendly.
Restaurant is okay but really slow service for breakfast and at dinner. Not a great menu for either (limited). Breakfast buffet is $18. Prices high for dinner. Servers friendly but do not check on you often and it takes a while to get a cooked breakfast or dinner.
The bad-parking is terrible. 2 nights in a row have had to park under the hotel outside so having to take stairs with heavy work bag to get to car. Have yet to figure out how to get to pool. Room decor outdated but lobby and restaurants ok.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view if you want a lovely view of ocean and Coconut Island-it's quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing