We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Hilo to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best place in Hilo to stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is right on the bay, near the airport. Nice view, nice restaurant and very attentive staff. Hilo is a beautiful and friendly place to visit. This hotel has very comfortable rooms at a reasonable price

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean side and otherwise, but view of the ocean and historic banyan trees is easily accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    694
    557
    135
    51
See reviews for
493
706
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a nice hotel, close to the town for eating etc, nice location with gardens and a great view over Hilo Bay.

I had an Ocean View room, which was spacious and the King Size bed was comfortable. Despite being close to the airport (as all the hotels seem to be) the nose was not a problem... probably partly to being on the Ocean side of the Hotel.

The Breakfast Buffet was excellent... fill up there and you barely need to eat lunch later, and the fresh fruit etc is very tasty.

My only criticism would be the housekeeping service which is a bit hit or miss... some days the room gets properly serviced, other days, the bed gets made and little else (not even a wipe down of the bathroom surfaces, and replacing the coffee supplies).

The staff are very helpful though, and the covered parking is a bonus given the high rainfall in the area!

I would stay there again... it's soo much closer to many of the attraction that the Kona side resorts, and as I was not looking for a beach holiday, fitted me well.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms would get my vote, and I understand that refurbishment has started from the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I found the front desk staff courteous and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Apart from a constant dripping sound from the outlet of its air conditioning unit and no hair dryer, it is a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, the hotel looked like a classic old resort & beautiful! At check-in the staff was friendly & informative. When we got to our room, the bubble burst. There was a musty smell, the room was very outdated with little maintenance. The carpets were stained and dirty, water marks all over the ceiling, wall paper peeling & marked up, and the bathroom was full of mildew & mold (even the shower curtain was full of black mold)-just to name a few. Once we opened the curtains we found a million dollar view of the bay full of sailboats & locals swimming and enjoying the sunshine! That was the only thing that kept us there for the night. The room isn't soundproof at all so if you are a light sleeper don't expect to get much sleep. For our last night in Hawaii after a wonderful 2 week vacation, it wasn't exactly nice but at least the hotel is close to the airport (which is why we stayed there to begin with).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmm1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I arrived at the Castle Hilo Hawaiin Hotel on the evening of December 30th. We were given our room keys and headed up to our room. Upon entering the room, we noticed a slight musty smell. I immediately headed back to the front desk to notify them of the situation. Sean, at the front desk, gave me a room key to another room and suggested I take a look at it to see if it was more accomodating - it was. The entire "changing room" process took only a few minutes. I was so appreciative of the quick response to a complaint. Also, the breakfast buffet can appear pricey -(has loads of fresh fruit and delicious hot dishes), but we found it to be well worth it given that our days were filled with lots of hiking. Housekeeping services were great, views from our balcony were amazing, clean and comfortable lobby area, and free parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, yet seen a finer day. This hotel looks as if it has stood still (and empty)in time since the 70-80's. The sliding doors are very old,rusted barely open and close- tacky draperies musty and falling off rods, lots of dust, as if they only vacumn around things, old old fashioned fabrics on old bedspreads. Everything needs a complete overhall. THis place needs a new buyer to invest many millions-it could become an off the charts place with enough $$$, yet with the present owners it is dreary, out of date, -I slept with the thin towels over the thinner sheets. They are way out of touch with even what you can now get at an average chain-better sheets, up to date design, bells and whistles. Stoggy and old yet a great location and had seen once again, a finer day is all I suspect. Would never stay there again. Stayed only the one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imgellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My sister and I were not sure about this hotel as some of the review weren't fantastic.We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was large, very clean. The ladies at the reception were great. The only criticism we had was the cost of the internet, at 25 cents a minute it was the dearest that we encountered. We encountered a problem with the printer. We were unable to print out a booking that we had made. The guy from IT, who was suppose to be helping us with the problem was absolutley useless. His solution to the problem was to hang up the phone on us! One of the ladies from the front reception came and sorted the problem. The other area of disappointment was the lack of tours available.The tour desk appeared to have one tour company, which were very expensive. We find the restaurants good value. We should certainily book this Hotel again. A special thanks to the ladies at reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJones49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing