We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in an old town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in an old town.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been in my room for 1 hour since arriving from a top resort north of Kona. Considering this town is very old and traditional, this hotel is clean, convenient and secure and I am very relaxed after previously reading some negative reviews by individuals whom seem hard to please. Yes, there seems to be a slight musty smell but this hotel in on the bay and salt water and inexpensive air filters cause this. The forthcoming renovations will take care of the mildew on the bath tub caulk. These are small and fixable items. The bottom line, a good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Changmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    694
    557
    135
    51
See reviews for
493
708
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magdalena, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's clean and quiet and close to the airport so it worked for us after a long and late arriving flight, we awoke refreshed and ready for our drive to Pahoa in daylight. We had a locals breakfast next door at Billy's where one of the employees was a 92year old Japanese woman who shared her lifetime of experiences of Hilo. Shabby, Old Hawaiian chic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sararuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this is an older hotel; if you're looking for the latest and greatest, this is not the place for you. Based on what we saw driving around, if you're looking for the latest and greatest, most of Hilo is not for you.

We had an ocean view room on the 5th floor. It seemed like any lower and our view would have been partially blocked by palm trees. The room was clean, with the exception of a few spots of mildew in the bathroom (there was no exhaust fan, so the mildew wasn't surprising given the humidity). Housekeeping staff took care of a special request we had and were very friendly whenever we encountered them. There was no hairdryer or safe in the room; both would have been appreciated. If you're sensitive to noise, bring ear plugs, as the frogs chirping and people talking in the hallways can be a bit much if you like perfect quiet.

Parking is free, which is great. The spaces are on the narrow side, especially in the surface lot (there are some covered spaces on a lower level, accessed by an unmarked ramp heading down to the right immediately after turning into the main driveway).

Breakfast buffet was pricey but had lots of tasty options. We liked this better than the one at the Sheraton on the Kona side that we stayed at later in the week.

There was a tsunami warning our second night there, and I was impressed with how the hotel staff coordinated the evacuation. The front desk had clear maps and directions to the shelter location to hand out, an announcement came over the phones in the rooms, and there were several full size buses to take guests to shelter if they didn't want to/couldn't drive themselves over.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel located in beautiful location on Hilo Bay next to wonderful park. There are so many gorgeous places to walk around the hotel. Room is a bit worn, but just fine - your basic 2 to 3 star older hotel room with nice balcony. Buffet breakfast was very nice - large selection of cereals, fruits, pastries, and all the usual hot breakfast buffet dishes. Service was excellent and very friendly. Desk personnel were business-like. Stayed three nights while on a tour. Several buffet dinners served to tour group were so-so.

Room Tip: Frogs in pond on banyan side of hotel are VERY noisy. Suggest you pay a bit extra and get an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our room was clean and stocked when we arrived but that was the end of it! Since the first day no coffee, supplies (lotion,shampoo, cups for our coffee etc) where not given. They did not come in to make bed three out of seven plus day stay.
Mold as long as six inches in the tub. Roof leaking, can see damages in the ceiling. Wall paper fixed with taped up two inch sections of the paper.
I have been managing hotels on mainland for 17 plus years amd can say this is a poorly run down hotel.
I will not stay here again. We reserved through third party so hotel was not able to cancel our stay without charging us, so we had to stay here.
I found a B&B called Coconut Cottage just outside Hilo, very nice place and feels like you are actually living in Hawaii in your own Hawaiian home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guests:

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your unfortunate experience with us. I do apologize for the unacceptable condition of your room. I will search our 286 rooms to find this room and correct the situation. I assure you that this is not the condition of our typical room even if we are an older hotel. I will also speak to our room attendants to find out why your room was not serviced properly. I apologize for failing to provide acceptable accommodations and will get it corrected.

On a positive note, our model guest rooms are soon to be completed with full renovations to start in April for all of our guest rooms. I am sure when completed you will be pleased with the new refreshing look.

Again my apologies and thank you for bringing it to my attention so I can remedy the situation.

Aloha & Mahalo,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel sign actually says "Hilo Hawaiian" only. Location's not bad since we had a car- close to the airport and about a 20min or so drive to get to shopping centers. There's plenty of hotel parking. The room was clean and cozy, with a small balcony, but the double beds were on the smaller side. There's a TV, but no safe and no hairdryer. We also found the supply of complimentary coffee a bit stingy, and the tea tasted terrible.... but they were free afterall. Service was very quick when we asked for extra pillows. Internet in the room (LAN connection available) wasn't free- costs something like $10/day. There was free wifi in the lobby, but no matter what I tried, I could not get connected with either my Iphone or Ipad. This is clearly a known issue, because there were instructions to contact staff regarding connection problems with Apple products. Getting on the internet shouldn't be this hard- we've never had this problem at any of the other hotels we stayed at. Not sure if the staff could've sorted it out quickly, since I decided it wasn't worth the bother and the wait- I could live without the net for just the one night we were staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

STAY: Oktober 2012
STAFF: Professional friendly.. u know smiling for the sake of smiling.
PRICE: good offer
ROOM: Huge room we had. King Size Bed, 8th FLOOR, Sea View. And yes only the view was great. REQUIRE major renovation.
CLEANLINESS: CLEAN.. generally clean.. but im sure my flowery bed cover is not change daily...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing