We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The lobby area is open and beautiful. The view from our room was awesome! We woke up to a cloudy morning, but a beautiful rainbow. Breakfast was good at the restaurant! We had the buffet. The room was clean and nice. I will stay here again when I return to Hilo.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang2isu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    693
    556
    135
    51
See reviews for
491
706
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The only reason we stayed in Hilo was to visit the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut factory/plantation and to see the volcanoes. Had we known that this hotel was so "tired", we would have sucked it up and driven the 3 hours from the Kona side. Quite literally, we walked off the plane in Oahu coming back from SE Asia and wanted to see the big island, so we changed our itinerary at the last minute and had to book "something, anything". We were relieved to get to the other side of the island and stay in Kona.

I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or associates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKI_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Aloha! Please accept my apologies for any deficiencies experienced during your recent visit. We strive to do the best we can with what we have. We are in the process of our hotel renovation plans. We have completed a number of projects and will be soon starting our guest room renovations. I know you will enjoy what we are planning for you.

My apologies again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and regain your confidence.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hilo is a rather unique and very relaxed town. The hotel is right in the middle of Hilo Bay and there is a surrounding park (worth taking a walk through) and an adjacent 'island' that offers snorkeling and diving (I saw people on paddle boards and kajaks, but am not sure where these were rented).
The parking is free but there is no internet in the room (often done on purpose to get people down to the reception area to make it look busy and encourage guests to buy coffee, drinks etc) -The lady at the reception had great humor and was very helpful. There is a great coffee shop that has free wifi (also available in the reception area).
The trees around the hotel are worth a tour themselves - note, there are frogs imported by mistake from Florida that make an amazing amount of noise at night but this did not disturb my sleep at all; it's worth a walk outside the hotel (or terrace) to listen too. These frogs are spreading fast through out the Big Island and are causing serious damage to native birds and insects.
The restaurant serves some great food at a resonable price and is a good option for dinner.
Great little friendly hotel that is worth a couple nights stay during a visit to Hilo (pronounced Heelo).

Room Tip: A higher level room provides a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrambler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guests:

Aloha! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. It was a pleasure serving you. I will share your comments with our staff. I do apologize however for failing to inform you that we do have internet services in our guest rooms through our local cable company, Oceanic Time Warner.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay on the Big Island and I hope you return to visit us real soon.

Take care...

Aloha & Mahalo,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It is a nice hotel in a very good location and while there are not many modern hotels in Hilo, this one is probably the best choice. The only inconvenience is that free WIFI is only available at the lobby. Generally a very pleasant two nights here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bungee_cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice hotel with a great view of the ocean. Getting a bit long in the tooth and can use a good reno. Clean and comfortable. Great location near downtown Hilo and next to the park area of Hilo. Nice balcony to sit and relax while looking at the ocean.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Most reviews and word of mouth had recommended this hotel as the best place to stay in Hilo. Stay away! If this is the best Hilo has to offer don’t bother going to Hilo and just stay in Kona, or North of Kona, (which is what most of the locals seem to want - very sad because Hilo seems to be such a diamond in the rough). We came to embrace the beauty of Hilo with respect for the place and people, but found little in return. As for the hotel itself we tried to check in early (little after 12:00). It was understandable that they couldn’t accommodate us, as we had two joint rooms and check in was not until 3:00. We were “supposedly” pre-checked in with a semi-friendly guy, for rooms 502/504, and told to come back in a while because they were still cleaning the rooms. We went and visited the area, then came back at 3:05. The semi friendly guy was no longer at the desk, replaced with an indifferent, at best, woman who said our rooms still were not ready (really it takes 3+ hours to clean 2 rooms when checkout is at noon?). I asked this woman how much longer till we could go to our rooms, and she said “not much longer, you can have drinks in our bar”. Since I had my wife and 3 children with me this was not an option, so we waited in the lobby and waited until just before 4:00 to get the keys to room 402 and 404 (not sure what happened to our pre checked in 502/504). Once in the room, we were all very “impressed” with the 3 hour plus cleaning job as well as the stains in the carpet (was that blood?). The sheets and towels at least were clean, but numerous odiferous smells abounded around the rooms (both of them). The shower in 402 leaked out onto the tile, which would not be an issue except you need to use towel to dry the tile no problem, right? Not for us, as we only stayed one night, but the Castle Resort policy is pretty strict per other reviews on needing extra towels, and the “resort” in all its efforts to save the planet only replace the towels every 4 days. I am all for helping/saving our planet, but it seems the “Resort” is hiding behind being "green" to save some $ (my humble opinion). Two days I can dig, but four days really? I am just glad after reading some of the reviews of how stingy they were on towels and coffee for the rooms, I didn’t have to go there (The Big Island might have seen its newest eruption). Upon checkout the next day we did not even receive a "thank you" or "come see us again" for staying at the “Resort”. This hotel does not have any sense of customer service, not even close. If I truly believed it would have made a difference I would have asked to speak with the manager, but the entire experience told me the manager already knows and doesn’t care how the people are treated at the Hilo Hawaiian. If the management does not see this, they are blind. I could have overlooked the condition of the slightly dilapidated rooms, if we were treated kindly and with respect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lief_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and allowing me the opportunity to explain. First of all I do apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We normally do receive many complimentary remarks regarding our cleanliness of our rooms but clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day. I inspected the rooms to check what I had failed in but unfortunately your comments of the day before must have been remedied. I checked the shower head and found it to be operating properly. The rooms did not have any foul odors. I did however find three quarter size light brown stains on the carpet in front of the vanity area and had it removed. Looking at the rag I used, it looked like coffee stains. I checked on your unpleasant experience at the front desk and found that the gentleman that original helped you was the same employee as the one that checked you out. This gentleman is my Front Office Manager and he has countless of complimentary remarks on his professionalism and customer service. I am sorry if he had a bad day but I have spoken to him about the importance of customer service and asked that he refresh not only himself but the rest of his staff as well.

Again my apologies and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. I will be speaking to all of the managers at our next staff meeting later on today and share your observations with them so we can all learn from it.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, right on the water and just minutes to downtown Hilo via car. The staff were very attentive and courteous. The overall property though had a slightly tired feel to it and probably needs a bit of updating. The free parking was a nice perk. I was also very happy to see that it had blackout curtains for those of us who wanted to sleep in.

Room Tip: No balcony on third floor rooms with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFgirlSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing