We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here - its the best on Banyan Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Stay here - its the best on Banyan Drive”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is one of the largest along Banyan Drive and so is used by many groups - tourist and schools. Nevertheless, it is able to provide well for the independent traveller as well. The rooms (ours was 633) are large, clean and have a wonderful good sized balcony. Note that the mynah birds create a dreadful racket all night in the trees between the hotel and Hawaiian Bay Hotel. If you are a light sleeper you will definately need ear plugs.
The king sized bed is very comfortable and there is good bedside and table lighting. Unfortunately there is no wifi in the rooms. This is something that the hotel should look to providing for its guests. There is free wifi in the lobby and a business centre you can use if you do not have your own laptop. The bathroom is large and clean with good lighting. An ice bucket is provided and there are ice despensing machines on each floor.
The flat screen TV works well and there are channels for everyone.
The lobby is always clean and tidy and the staff pleasant to deal with.
There is a fee for use laundry in the basement for guest use.
The gardens both front and back are well maintained and the koi in the pond are beautiful.
We did not use the pool but it was well maintained and very clean.
Walk around the other hotels in the area and you will see that the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the best there is.
The hotel provides breakfast discounts of $5 per day off either the hot buffet or the continental breakfast buffet. The latter has a choice of yoghurt, different pasteries, toast, fruit and juices.
Uncle Billy's General Store is located next door and is a great place to get extremey good sandwiches to go and ice cream.
There is ample parking both at lobby level and under cover near the basement.
There are good walks around the area - particularly the Liliuokalani Gardens which is also the refuge for stray cats and mongooses. Note the cup of Gold vine with its huge flowers. You can also walk out to Coconut Island via the little bridge taking care to watch out for falling coconuts.
If you want other cheap food there is Uncle Ken's Diner at the cross roads with Banyan Drive. If you drive right you go to Downtown (a little run down), Rainbow Falls and on to theBotanical Gardens (a must see - with at least 2 hours), Akaha Falls (fee).
Highly recommended and we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Only choose the more expensive harbour view rooms if you are going to sit on your balcony all day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasputin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    704
    561
    135
    51
See reviews for
502
715
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Nice place to stay. Clean room nice view. No iron or ironing board in room. Can hear sounds from rooms all around you, no sound proofing.Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet extensive, though the food was cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNLScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here on my school field trip for geology from Australia. This hotel had a nice hawaiian vibe, compaired to other hotels. It had a nice pool, but it was even better swimming out in the bay. Coconut island is also right across the bay. The restaurant in the hotel is also gorgeous providing yummy breakfast :D a nice buffet and was a great way to start each day especially when we were trekking everywhere :) Hilo is quite a laid back, old style hawaiian town and the area around it so dont be surprised its not like honolulu ladies and gentlement :P It was also lovely watching some of the competitors from the world championship of hula dancing practising their dance. I also enjoyed the wake up calls, you will never forget the, "Aloha, this is your wake up call, Mahalo" in that American accent <3

Room Tip: try get a room facing the bay because the views are stunning, where the other side you only see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

In searching for the hotel, note that Castle Hilo Hotel is aka Hilo Hawaiian (Sign in front of hotel driveway) . It is indeed an old hotel, but so are all the other hotels around. Hilo is generally a slow provincial town (to my opinion). Frogs croak from 6pm till wee hours of morning. Birds start chirping early morning. If you know what to expect, it helps.
The rooms are of good size. We had 2 Rather good sized Double beds and it served my family of 2 adults and 2 kids. Beds are decent. You have a coffe maker, couple of chairs and a round table, TV. Old tub and toilet but functions well. Wall paper is peeling off. Windows in restroom and bed room are horizontal jalousie glass slats. Rahter dim room, but opening all lights does the trick. So the picture i paint is that the hotel is dated, but if you are staying a night or 2 , I can recommend it.
Some good points of the hotel are: there is a big balcony, few Vending Machines for water and drinks around ,ice machines for free ice, clothes washing machines at basement. Free Parking. Best thing about the hotel is that the Liliuokalani Park is next door. Do stroll here or take pictures before leaving Hilo. The park is nice and is published in Hawaiian books and magazines.
Important tip: Buy water and your snacks in town center before driving to hotel . As I said, the town seems provincial, and it is diifcult to get anything past 8pm nearby. Note that you may use the drinking fountain by the lobby.
Suggestions: It is best to see the orange glow of the small lava flows at night. The hotel is close by,so you can manage to drive back from the volcanoe even after sunset. The Park is open 24 hours, but do get your maps and guide directions at the park office during office hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night so that we could see the volcano glow at night time, and to be closer to the activities near and around Hilo.

The hotel is quite old. We checked in at around 11 pm, it was busy. Most of the staff and a lot of the costumers were Japanese. After checking we went to our room, 8th floor, it was clean, with a lanai.

All I can say is that the hotel was fine for an over night stay and suited just for that, if you are doing activities near by or have a plane to catch. Would not recommend extended stay. Restaurant was closed by the time we arrived, I believe it closed at 9 or 9:30. Front desk recommended we go to the Pancake House near by as it was all that was open for food.

Overall, overpriced, I paid 99 a night on xpedia

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie_Nestle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We spent a few nights here to explore the local charm of the Hilo area and to visit the Volcano National Park. This property was ver reasonable, the room was just fine, the people were kind.

Room Tip: Oceanview is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdsbjmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

which was an OK room, free parking in a very handy location.
The place is old and tired looking. We didnt use any facilities there apart from the room.
They charge an extortionate fee for wifi, so I found a coffee shop nearby that had it free with an espresso.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing