We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Hilo, dated and needs updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best option in Hilo, dated and needs updated”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I will start by saying we love Hilo. The hotel options are limited and this is best option as there are no newer choices. Hilo is unique in that it represents Hawaii from a previous era and has a very slow pace. Hilo is adjacent, 30 minute drive, and best option that is closest to the active volcano, Kiluea.
We prefer the Volcano House Hotel located in the National Park, but it has been closed for more than a year for renovations.
We stayed in an ocean deluxe room. The room had a private patio which overlooked the beautiful Hilo Bay and Coconut Island. Our room had a small refrigerator and 2 double beds. Because it is an older hotel (1950s era?) is had a musty smell. We did not use the A/C at all but kept the patio door open and the fresh air quickly made the odor not as obvious.
On the positive side there is the free parking(in contrast to the Kona side) friendly staff and favorable location to some of the finest activities on the island. We did not eat in any of the hotel restaurants. We did not use the small pool.
We wil stay in this hotel again when we return to Hilo.

Room Tip: the ocean deluxe room gets the sun in the afternoon and views of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    704
    561
    135
    51
See reviews for
502
715
79
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This somewhat dated hotel has perhaps one of the best locations in Hilo, and the rooms are spacious with great ocean views and balconies. It's not much on the service side, and the food in the restaurant is, well, hotel food. Don't bother with the breakfast buffet - overpriced and lacking in quality and selection. But, if I ever stayed in Hilo again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean view, upper floors (there are 8 floors) are best. 8th floor is "smoking balcony" an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Arkansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had two rooms and they both had a terrible musty smell. We could could easily hear everything in the hallway and from nearby rooms.

The pool was extremely cold and there wasn't much to do nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I want to like this hotel and recommend it, but its hard. On the positve side, it has a beautiful location, adjacent to the bay and a wonderful garden. The surroundings are lush. The rooms need to be updated. They're not terrible, but they are dated. I had a nice balcony overlooking the bay. The dining options are weak. I stayed on Sunday night and the only thing available in the restuarant was the $38 buffet. I would have been allowed to order off of the limited menu in the adjacent bar, but it was the worst bar I've ever seen. A big, sterile empty room with a couple of tables. Considering that it has a view of the bay, the bar should be fantastic. I took one stepped in, looked around and turned around and left. The lobby was comfortable and staff at the desk were helpful.

Room Tip: I had a few of the bay, which was nice. My friend had a view overlooking the park, saved $20 and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chartering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Let's start by saying that you don't have many options for hotels in Hilo. And, you definitely won't find the lovely resorts you find on the Kona side of the island.

So, keeping that perspective, this hotel is okay. Just don't get your expectations very high.

My wife and I stayed here overnight with my parents, in two separate rooms. The rooms were clean, but I do agree that they needed to be upgraded. The TV is a small tube-TV and bathroom and carpet could be replaced to help spruce up the place. That sad, there was nothing wrong, but its a stark contrast between the luxury rooms/hotels on the Kona side. Our room overlooked the water, so that was nice.. It also had a balcony.

While we were there, they left a note under our door saying that it was time for their quarterly insect/cockroach spraying the next morning. Thankfully we were checking out that day :)

The beds were a little harder for my liking and I'm typically okay with hard beds... so, I can see many folks having a problem with this.

Like others have said, the lobby is very nice and the front desk staff are helpful.

Parking is self parking under the hotel with easy covered access to the lobby. There is also free wifi in the lobby - no internet is available in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

hotel lobby nice. rooms need updating badly. staff very pleasant. park next door superb. waterfront location very nice. reportedly banyan trees out front planted by babe ruth cecil b demille and others

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awickline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Hilo Hawaiian was a good place to stay for our night in town. We enjoyed walking around the shore in front of the hotel and even walked across the bay to dinner from there. We went for a banyan view room to save money but it really would have been nice to have a bay view instead of the parking lot. The room interior is a bit sparse and dated looking but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing