We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, a must do in Hilo”

Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe
Ranked #30 of 244 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It is always good to ask local residents where they would eat. What a treasure. Organic good food, homemade and prepared from scratch.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a must do in Hilo”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We really enjoyed Tina's. Went back twice to try more dishes on the menu. Thai green chicken curry was probably the favourite, but all the dishes we hade were fresh and full of flavour, don't go to Hilo and not go here!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    19
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The GPS was taking me to a direction that seamed wrong and when I parked, there it was, the most authentic and delicious thai meal. The service was superb and the food delicious. You HAVE to order the Sticky Rice and Mangoes, or like we say in Spanish "Arroz con Mango". But be aware is big, so order one for the entire table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant on our first night in Hilo. What a discovery! The food is outstanding, and considerably different from Thai I'm accustomed to. The Tom Kha soup had many more veggies than I've seen other places, and it was a pleasant surprise. However, the spiciness is according to the Thai scale -- our soup was too spicy, yet it was so delicious we ate it all anyway! The Thai pizza with opakapaka was amazing! We also enjoyed the homemade curry. This restaurant has the best Thai food I've ever had!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wuvhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just Great.”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Everything here is fresh, organic, and bursting with flavor. The Green Papaya salad is absolutely delicious. Very creative menu with friendly staff. Tina is a wonder of a human being, and I would love to go back and eat more of her delightful food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very nice restaurant, good location, amazing food!!! Everything fresh, organic, prepared and served with style. I was very impressed. Try lava flow smoothie with basil - delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Oksana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing