We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Food!”

Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe
Ranked #32 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It is always good to ask local residents where they would eat. What a treasure. Organic good food, homemade and prepared from scratch.
Lincoln, NE
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you like Thai food and are in Hilo, this is a must. This was some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten. We showed up later in the afternoon after visiting Kilueah. The service was let's just say 'relaxed'. Once we ordered though, the food came out quickly. The tom kah was delicious, as were the curry dishes we had with organic chicken and seafood. Based on the veggies in our entrees, I would think the vegetarian options would be great also. The value is there if you share an entree, or if multiple people, share entree's family style. It is a nondescript store front facing the bay, the decor is let's just say eclectic. But the food is the star here and worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    19
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy, innovative choices with very fresh flavors....”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I ate at several restuarants on a recent trip to the Big Island (many MUCH more expensive), and this was definately my favorite. There are interesting Thai influenced menu options, and the ones I tried were xlnt. I had the Tom Kha soup and it contained tons of fresh veggies and could have been a meal by itself. The veggies were served al dente, so it was not a bunch of mushed up ingredients like many soups. It was extremely flavorful and robuust. I also had the Thai pizza, which was a twist on pizza with Thai influence. You can order your food mild to spicey, all is cooked to order. Service was great when I was there, waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. There are many options for vegetarians, and just healthy, fresh food for everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great thai pizza!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lots of vegetarian options here! The thai pizza was soooo good! Staff was friendly and helpful. There was also entertainment (two singers - wonderful!).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like almost every other shop on the main drag of Hilo, this place is a little funky. But if you are hungry it is really great! The décor is a bit lacking but we enjoyed the huge posters of the many varieties of avocado found on the island. It is also a small place and was jammed around the lunch hour…we waited until about 1:30 and were able to get right in.
The first thing to know is, they serve family style and the portions are huge. We had six people and ordered 4 salads (each had a very distinctive combination of vegies and spices) and one “Thai Pizza”. We waddled out.
The salads were all made with very fresh ingredients – I would bet they walked down the street to the farmers market that morning. The Thai Pizza was more like a giant quesadilla – shrimp and vegies rolled up in a huge basil tortilla. It was really tasty! They asked us if we wanted mild or hot and we chose mild. They could have added a side of hot sauce for those who wanted it but we did not complain.
If you like ginger try the ginger smoothie…they add plenty of ginger and it is really good.
My only regret is that I did not get to try one of the soups...a person next to us had one and it smelled wonderful -- and like everything else the bowl was huge!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DudefrmAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The dining area lacked ambiance sort of junky looking, the service was just okay. The food was good, we order a shrimp quesadilla, very large portion, filled with sweet potatoes, pineapple, it was different, but good. We also had the black bean fish, moist and flavorful. Everything tasted fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tina's Garden Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing