We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a cave full of flowers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaumana Caves Park

Kaumana Caves Park
Ranked #18 of 79 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a cave full of flowers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We just gave it a quick view, but it was nice. It's own little rain forest down there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyaEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    60
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Cool Lava Tube!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We actually went here during a tour with Hawaii Forest and Trail but anyone can go and its free. Its a fairly easy jaunt, but you do have to climb steep stairs and go through a very low section before you get into the larger part of the cave. It's fascinating, but then again, I really like stuff like this! Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank UpstateNYGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok as caves go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

nothing extraordinary and doesn't really feel safe. Don't visit alone

Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Your own private cave expedition- for free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Go in the narrow left tube and bring at least two good flashlights. If you go about a quarter mile in you get to a cool place where you can crawl up on land and you are in the middle of a jungle with no path out. So you go back the way you came - awesome experience!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank bhaight2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakalau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Severe laceration waiting to happen. Very neat but treacherous. (Right tube).”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

STEEP concrete steps leading down to it. Like climbing down a ladder compared to most steps - NOT for anyone not steady on their feet. Either tube requires TWO flashlights (at least one per person if in a group). in case you get way in and one goes dead - unless you're prepared to wait for someone else to come along. I see the left tube sounds better. We went to the right. I basically bumped my elbow hard and laid it open, requiring several stitches. I'd heard lava rock is sharp but it didn't look that sharp. Wear long jeans, a helmet if possible (bonking your head hard in the wrong place would no doubt require sttches). Long sleeves wouldn't hurt and gloves are a must if you try to catch yourself from falling you coould make a mess of your palms. This all goes for walking on ANY lava, or even the left tube that I haven't seen, because it's still lava and any lava can be sharp in many places.I'd hate to think if you fell HARD or on your face. It was like falling on a cheese grater. I don't know about the left tube, but the right one is MUCH harder than Thurston. There are basketball sized jagged boulders that you have to walk over and between. It's even harder while holding a flashlight in one hand and a camera in the other. If you want to crawl into the low ceiling part, knee pads are a good idea. I'd never recommend a senior citizen try to right tube, and wonder how the left could be much better, but it sounds that way from the reviews here. Oh, and it's FREE and self-guided. A lot better than paying $20 or more for other tubes. (Thurston in the Natl' park is free too, but short and slightly less interesting. It is much easier than the right tube at Kalmana and easier to get down to -but a longish winding walk down to it and the steps aren't nearly as steep a Thurston).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaumana Caves Park also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaumana Caves Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing