We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection in a property rental”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the private Lanai/Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the private Lanai/Patio
Lopaka's front entrance Private Lanai (10' X 20')
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
View from the private Lanai/Patio
Lopaka's front entrance
Private Lanai (10' X 20')
Corner of Lanai
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom Shower
Bathroom Vanity
Laundry Room
Coconut Palm in the yard
Dining Table
Dining Area
Fruit & Flowers from the Garden
Kitchen
Pineapple in the garden
From Dining Room into Kitchen
From Kitchen to Dining and Living Rooms
Hula Girl hibiscus in the garden
Coconut island, Hilo
Family fun at Coconut Island
Nearby Boiling Pots
Snowcapped Mauna Kea
Halema`uma`u Crater (Volcanoes National Park)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timothy S
1 review
“Perfection in a property rental”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This accommodation on the outskirts of Hilo is set slightly up in an elevated position overlooking Hilo. It is a great location with downtown Hilo only being about 10 minutes away.
The quality of the accommodation is outstanding and the owner has taken great care to ensure clients want for nothing. Ten out of ten is not enough

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Aloha Tim,
Your positive review is much appreciated. It is interesting how Lopaka's seems to attract guests who are also A+. I will look forward to your return.
Mahalo,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zander B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect family vacation rental!”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This review is a bit belated but well deserved. Our family of 4 booked for the first week of our three week stay on the Big Island at Lopaka's Family Lodge and what a treat it was. The property is set a ways up the mountain in a quiet Big Island neighborhood that boasts colorful and vivid tropical landscapes. The home is superbly clean and boasts an amazing view overlooking the city of Hilo. The owner (Bev) is warm, friendly and thought of every single detail as it pertains to amenities. There was not a single item that we needed that the room did not have. She even thought to include earplugs for the Coqui frogs although the sounds of the frogs themselves were one of the highlights of our trip!

There are several attractions like the Boiling Pots and Rainbow falls within walking distance of the property. Some of the best swimming and sun bathing can be found on Coconut Island which is only a short drive away. We used this as our base to explore as far as the Volcanoes National Park and Green Sand Beach although it's quite a drive. I'd recommend checking out North Hilo from here as well, there are some nice waterfall and zip-lining not far from here.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this place for a family of 4. Out of the 3 places we stayed we still talk about this one the most. Bev is a local and long time resident with a wealth of knowledge as well as an amazing hostess! Thank you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Mahalo nui loa to the Bowen family for the wonderful review! It was a joy hosting you. I still have the pictures you sent of the children with their leis. Please come again! A hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oesbrat20...
Montrose, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful hospitality, comfortable and spacious!”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Enjoyed my stay immensely. The lanai was a wonderful place to sit and relax enjoying the views and quiet sounds of Hawaii. Bev, the owner, was most accommodating and friendly. I felt safe and secure and enjoyed the home like atmosphere she has created in the lodge. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Mahalo nui loa for the positive comments!. I appreciate your taking the time for the review. Enjoyed having you here, and am looking forward to seeing you again soon..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaFN
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way!”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'm so glad we booked Lopaka's for two weeks. An exceptional place to stay at an amazing price with all the amenities you need. A perfect location with Bev, the perfect hostess! This place was immaculately clean and is very comfortable, well designed with a private deck and a peek-a-view of the bay. Bev has thought of everything one might need and we thoroughly enjoyed our time. Kitchen has everything you need; there is a private laundry room; the master bedroom has a walk in closet; umbrellas for the rain; extra everything in case you forgot something, and just perfect! Mahalo Bev!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and spacious
Liked least: pillows were flat (I'm used to feather pillows)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2015
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure having you here, and I hope we will see you again in the future. Aloha, Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonNZ
Nelson New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything you could want in a vacation home.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had a great three day stay in Bev's Family Lodge. It was just over two miles from the downtown area of Hilo. Very spacious, and supplied with everything you would ever need on vacation, even an electric kettle for those of us who are tea-drinkers. 45 minutes to Volcano National Park, and close to other must see's in the Hilo area.

It was wonderful sitting on the lanai at breakfast listening to the bird calls. There was one who was very vocal, and seemed to be calling to a mate, as it was being answered in the distance. We heard the frogs on Friday night but seemed to be quiet the other nights.

Highly recommend for a very relaxing enjoyable stay. Bev is most helpful, welcomed us with lei's, which was a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space.
Liked least: A teapot would have been nice, but a very minor detail.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2014
Mahalo!
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay and that everything you needed was available. I think the Cardinal was actually talking to you and welcoming you to Hilo.
Malama Pono (take care),
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveJ_May...
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our accommodations at Lopaka's Family Lodge in Hilo were "Outstanding"! Although we had a late arriving flight, Bev was very gracious about greeting us with a warm smile, presenting us with Hawaiian leis and providing us with a bag of fresh ground coffee beans to start our day off! Our home was centrally located on a hillside with a fabulous view from the covered rear deck of Hilo Bay. The inside was very tastefully decorated and immaculately cleaned. Bev has taken great care in providing all the amenities you need, but probably won't find anywhere else you stay. If Kilauea and the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park are on your "To Do List" then Lopaka's is only 30 - 35 minutes drive away. We also had a late evening departing flight time, but let Bev know ahead of time and she was kind enough to allow us to stay longer than the customary check-out time at no additional charge. We travel frequently and have stayed at many hotels, timeshares, etc. as guests. When we stayed at Lopaka's, Bev treated us as family. We look forward to visiting the Big Island again and will definitely stay at Lopaka's. Mahalo Bev for showing us the Aloha Spirit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities and cleanliness of this property.
Liked least: Nothing negative - exceeded our expectation!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo!
It is my guests and their appreciation that makes this so rewarding. I appreciate your comments and tips, and will definitely look forward to your return.
A hui hou (until then), Aloha,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth H
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So relaxing...felt like "home"!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Lopaka's and had a wonderful, relaxing, and memorable time! Bev was a wonderful hostess, always available when needed, yet we felt we had plenty of privacy. (We wished we could've had more time to get to know this wonderful lady!) The lanai was a beautiful place to have coffee every morning and watch the sunrise. Be sure to check out Rainbow Falls which is only about 1 mile away. The home is just as beautiful and clean as it looks in the pictures (no false advertising! :-) ) We took time to visit several places on the Big Island, but also enjoy our little home away from home. We would highly recommend Lopaka's Family Lodge! (Bev, I already miss Samson and it was so nice to chat with you a bit before we left!) Mahalo, from Scott & Beth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling of being in a home instead of hotel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2013
Mahalo Scott & Beth for your positive comments!
I am so pleased that you had a wonderful experience here, and hope you will return someday soon. It would have been fun to get to know you better. Samson will be watching for you. :)

Aloha,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing