We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden Bungalow with charming cobblestone pavers leading to Craftsman-columned entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bungalow with charming cobblestone pavers leading to Craftsman-columned entry
Outdoor garden jetted spa with UV light water sterilization, infraed sauna and shower Front entrance to Craftsman-style bungalow vacation rental
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Garden Bungalow with charming cobblestone pavers leading to Craftsman-columned entry
Outdoor garden jetted spa with UV light water sterilization, infraed sauna and shower
Front entrance to Craftsman-style bungalow vacation rental
Garden Bungalow dining, kitchen and living rooms
Garden Bungalow spacious interiors with cherry wood flooring and cabinetry
Garden Bungalow with vintage, island-style furnishings and Shoji privacy doors
Garden Bungalow chef\'s kitchen with stainless steel appliances andcherry wood cabinetry
Garden Bungalow with Craaftsman dormer windows and rich wood detailing
Garden Bungalow master suite with private bath finished in natural stone and cherry wood cabinets
Garden Bungalow master bedroom with partial ocean view
Garden Bungalow guest bedroom with garden view
Garden Bungalow main hall bathroom finished in natural stone and cherry wood cabinets
Enjoy gentle breezes on the Garden Bungalow screened lanai - rain or shine
Garden Bungalow screened lanai at front lawn
Hand-carved stone tsukubai water basin at entrance to courtyard
Garden Bungalow courtyard garden oasis
Relax and unwind by the pond and waterfall at the garden courtyard
Garden Bungalow courtyard and lanai
Relax to the sounds of the waterfall gently flowing into the pond
Capture the beautiful late afternoon glow in the garden
Stroll and meditate in the garden and learn from nature
Golden bamboo. in garden
Garden splendor
Japanese-inspired and naturalistic tropical gardens
Colvillea racemosa tree blossoms
Vanda Sansai Blue orchid, hapuu and agapanthus in bloom
Bird's nest fern, hapuu and rattlesnake plant in garden
Garden Bungalow front exterior from street
Mauna Kea from Richardson's Beach along Hilo's shoreline
Snorkel with tropical fish and turtles ...beach equipment provided
Richardson's Beach in Hilo is an amazing, tranquil black sand beach...you can relax, surf or swim
Magnificant views of Mauna Kea from Richardson's Beach
Surf at Richardson's Beach...bodyboards provided
Soak in the freshwater lagoons and bask in the sunshine
Surf Honolii where the locals go or catch the sunrise
Enjoy the beautiful sunset over Hilo Bay from Coconut Island
Coconut Island in Hilo Bay
Stream of lava flowing through ohia forest
Fireworks over Hilo Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennergir...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The craftsman luxury bungalow looks great in the pictures and its even better when you stay there. I felt so relaxed as soon as I stepped inside. The property is top quality and was spotless on our arrival. The house is so well equipped - better than at home. After staying there I had to go and buy a few more kitchen items for home that we had got used to using. I stayed there with my father and two teenage daughters - even though its a two bedroom house, it felt big - there are lots of spaces to go inside and out. We never felt like we were cramping each others space. We stayed for eight nights and were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and comfort of this property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Aloha Vivienne, Bill, Casey and Michaela, We are pleased that you were able to relax and slow down to enjoy the peaceful surroundings of our Craftsman Garden Bungalow during your week in Hilo. The gardens and ponds help us unwind and tune into the tranquility and beauty of nature. Thank you for sharing your experience and writing a wonderful review. May your travels lead you back to our Big Island of Hawaii, and may my journeys take me to your beautiful islands of New Zealand.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Aloha Andrea and Richard,
Thank you for writing the superlative review on our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. Thank you for seeing the details and appreciating the effort that goes into our vacation rental property. We are thoroughly blessed and encouraged by your comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and your children, Kyra and Jack, and to be able to host your stay in Hilo. Please do us the honor of staying at our bungalow again should you return to Hawaii for another visit.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FlynLass1
Kissee Mills, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 nights in this absolutely fantastic two bedroom, two bath Garden Bungalow. In addition to being spotlessly clean and well cared for, absolutely EVERYTHING we could have needed was available. The grounds provide a beautiful garden which is not to be missed. The location is about 5 minutes from the center of Hilo - convenient, but far enough away to give that feeling of privacy and calm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and look forward to another visit in the future. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful vacation rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort and convenience to things to do
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
Aloha Leslie and Jim, Thank you for being wonderful guests at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo, and for taking the time to write a great review on our bungalow and garden vacation rental property. We hope to see you again on your future visits to the Big Island. Best wishes to you and your family for a fantastic 2014! Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn D
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most Luxurious and Amazing Rental Experience!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

About mid-way through our three-week vacation in the Hawaiian islands, our family (including our children aged 12 and 14) stayed at this wonderful find in the hillside outside of Hilo. We found the bungalow amidst a garden-lover's delight of tropical plants, pond and gorgeous walkways throughout the property.

The bungalow was pristine and immaculately ready for our base camp for four days on this side of the island. Every amenity has been well though out - down to 4 different types of hangers in each closet for hanging all types of garments! And love the luxurious robes too..

The kitchen was well-stocked with everything you need to feel at home while preparing meals. Abundant towels, sheets and bathroom products rounded out the offering. Not one single thing was missing - almost better than the write-up on-line.

Thanks Sherron and David for adding this lovely touch to our exploration of the Big Island. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others - you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Mahalo nui loa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and all amenities provided
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Aloha Dawn, Claude, Adam and Dana, We would like to extend our appreciation to you for your wonderful review of our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo. We enjoyed meeting your family and look forward to your return stay on your next visit to the Big Island. May your family enjoy a happy and prosperous new year in 2014! Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwlace
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful 3 weeks here. The house is comfortably furnished and excellently appointed. Sherron really has thought of everything you could need for a perfect stay. The bungalow is situated on the hillside above Hilo, amidst a beautiful well cared for garden, filled with unusual and interesting plants.
We didn't want to leave and would love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved it all
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2013
Aloha Tom, Tricia, John and Shirley, We are so happy that your family had a wonderful stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo. We look forward to your return stay on your next visit to our island. Thank you for your lovely review and comments about the property. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2013
Aloha Leslie, Andrew, Emily and Samantha, Thank you for rating our Craftsman Garden Bungalow vacation rental home as "the best of the best". I sincerely appreciate your compliment and recognition of the hard work and effort that goes into creating a vacation rental property with high standards of cleanliness, comfort and service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mszig11
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxing bungalow”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Two couple traveled to Hilo for a Volcano hike. We were very graciously greeted by Sharon and given the keys and an introduction to our well equipped home. Linens and beds were comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped and organized. The Japanese garden is fabulous, again with great attention to detail and thoughtfully planned and executed. This is a wonderful experience for two adult couples traveling to Hilo. We all wished we had more time to experience and enjoy the little sangria la the owners have created with this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sharon's graciousness, the gardens, the spaciousness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2013
Aloha Patsy, Jim, Earl & Marcia, Thank you for your wonderful review on the Craftsman Garden Bungalow. We appreciate your stay and look forward to seeing you again for another visit. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing