We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Yummy yummy yummy! Great Thai food on Kalakaua Avenue in Hilo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon and Turtle

Moon and Turtle
Ranked #9 of 228 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We feature a frequently changing international menu with a pacific emphasis and focus on locally sourced ingredients.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy yummy! Great Thai food on Kalakaua Avenue in Hilo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I love Thai, but need mild, and my order came just right! I tried the Red Curry with brown rice (about $11) and had an appetizer of Summer Rolls with Shrimp (about $9). Flavors were very good! I can't say too many good things about this nice clean restaurant that is actually staffed with people from Thailand! My waitress was very polite and provided excellent service. I'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank malulaniwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    37
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
280 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty & spicy Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our family had dinner here after visiting the various waterfalls. The staff were very friendly, but I think there may have been a miscommunication at some point since our salad came out so spicy that I could barely eat it ... this after having gone to Thailand. I was a bit afraid to try my dinner, but it was fine. I think it was good, but my taste buds were a bit numb ... Just be careful when you order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful predominantly Thai influenced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Small, charming, delicious, reasonable
and they serve breakfast too !!!
Light music some nights @ dinner, always very good and does not interfere w/ table talk
I try to dine there 1 time per week when on the big island
Eggplant spicy is stellar !

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassyslide101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Asian Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Awesome food, service and beautiful wood interior. Great resturante to park and take a stroll through Hilo, Hawaii and stop for dinner. If you like curry you wont be dissappointed. O yea theres a nice bar too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phatalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“The best Thai food in Hilo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have tried several Thai restaurants in Hilo an none of them compare to Full Moon Cafe! The food is always fresh and they use a lot of local ingredients! My favorite is the green curry and the coconut soup! The atmosphere is very pleasant and the service is great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon and Turtle also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moon and Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing