We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lava forest falls tour”
Review of C Big Island Tours

C Big Island Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Hilo Shore Excursion: Exclusive Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls
Ranked #10 of 42 Tours in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: C Big Island offers exclusive land tours and Shore Excursions on the Big Island of Hawaii. Tours such as lava viewing on Kilauea volcano, Mauna Kea Summit, waterfalls in the rainforest,and Volcanoes National Park.All tours are done SUV,Eco style vehicles or 11-15 pas van. We DO NOT operate buses. We depart daily from Kona and Hilo. CRUISE SHIP CUSTOMERS - we have permits to pick you up directly from the pier and work with the cruise ships weekly. We would love to show you the Big Island....Give us a call!
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lava forest falls tour”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our group of 8 were taken on a wonderful tour of areas south of Hilo including the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach on 15 October 2013. The Volcano National Park was closed that day. The tour was informative, interesting and made especially memorable because of our Tour Guide Lawrence who did a great job!! He was the first tour guide to arrive at the pick up point, near the Pride of America (Norwegian line) ship and was happy to answer questions from the many "tour attendees" in a friendly and engaging style, many thanks Lawrence !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    22
    7
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A day in Hawaii”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have the oportunity to enjoy dis summer the big island of Hawaii . As a visitor in Hawaii i wanted to see the nature so i bought a tour , where the guid was Mr Yakiim Johnson . I would say it couldn't be better , mr Yakiim wasnt just a tour guide knowing about all the things are going on the island especialy history but also a person that u can enjoy the nature with acttualy a friend for a day . I hope someday i will go back to hawaii and reapeat this amazing tour .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thankyou so very much for the great review! Your driver will also be excited to hear it. We hope to see you again some day. Thanks for visiting the big island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour, Fabulous Guide”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a great day and Yakiim was a great tour guide. Many thanks Mark and Yakiim for looking after us when the National Park was closed. We thought we were going to be disappointed then Mark came to our rescue and organised a tour for us with Yakiim as our guide. We had a fabulous day lots of sights, legends, history and plenty of laughs. Very memorable day, many thanks for going out of your way to make our experience so enjoyable. Cheers Pam

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
So glad you hear you had a wonderful time! The lava forest and falls has some great hidden treasures and it is still very raw Hawaii. The lava forest and falls tour is one of my personal favorites. Glad you liked it too. I will be sure to tell Yakim about this review. He will be so excited!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tours and great prices!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went on a tour in Hilo with C Big Island Tours and had Yakiim Johnson as a tour guide. He was a wonderful tour guide and took us to see some amazing sites. We did the Lava, Forest & Falls tour, it had more to offer than a similar tour through our cruise ship and the price was much better, too! I highly recommend this tour if you want to see some beautiful sites and learn about the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Wow thanks for the great review. Ill be sure to pass these great compliments to your guide. He will be so thankful! We try to keep our prices at a reasonable price for every one. especially because the ship prices are so expensive. So glad we provided a great experience for you.....and didn't hurt your pocket book while doing so :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lava Forest and Falls Tour”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Due to the National Park being closed due to USA Government shutdown we had to change our tour at very short notice, we were very worried not booing through the cruiseline but honestly it was a great experience and we need not worried.
The tour guide on the tour was Frank and very informative and friendly
We went to rainbow falls, Lava Tree Forest Black Sand Beach , Macadamia Nut Farm and Sea Cliffs all in a morning and had plenty of time at all these places.
We were due to go to Hot pond but this was shut due to some health and safety reason so the guide took us to a difference beach to see tutles which we were not disappointed with

Great tour and very good value for money $80 per person plus tip but good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonnekonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbig, Owner at C Big Island Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Yes even the tour operators are upset of the volcanoes national park being closed due to government shut down. We are happy to be able to offer the east side volcano tour since bus companies cannot fit onto the roads in that area. Sorry about the unexpected closer of the hot ponds. They were having to due water tests due to a previous matter we heard about in the newspaper. So glad the driver could accommodate and to hear you had a great time. thanks for the warm compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C Big Island Tours also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to C Big Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing