We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great zip line for beginners”

KapohoKine Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Lava Expedition From Hilo
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Ranked #1 of 43 Tours in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bringing the BEST of Hawaii to YOUR adventure! KapohoKine Adventures carries the brands you want like Keen and Salomon shoes, Patagonia rain jackets, and GoPro cameras and accessories. Our downtown Hilo store is an adventure hub. Check out our helicopter, zipline, and volcano tours. We also offer unique tours combining helicopter flights plus zipline and volcano adventures.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our first time zip lining! The guys were fun, informative, and made me feel very safe! Such a friendly staff and a lot of fun! The view was amazing!! I would highly recommend this zip lining adventure you won't be disappointed! If you drive yourself allow extra time to find parking.

Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Aloha Heidi, we are so glad that we could show you a great time on your first zipline experience. Our guides do an awesome job at making guests of every experience level feel comfortable while on our zipline, all while providing a fun and safe atmosphere. That is a good tip for parking. As our store is located right in Hilo town there is usually plenty of parking along the bay front, but it is always a good idea to give yourself some extra time so you aren't rushed. Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing KapohoKine Adventures and Zipline Through Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,664 - 1,668 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I say top of the line because 1) these are hands free ziplines (automatic breaks, state of the art) and 2) the guides for our trip were outstanding! We booked our Zipline Through Paradise tour through KapohoKine Adventures. The people that checked us in were nice and they sell nice sporting equipment/sports attire at the store. The driver that took us to the zipline park was so friendly and told us so many stories on the way about the flora and fauna found in The Island of Hawaii. It was an adventure just getting there through the macadamia nut trees and bumpy roads. I've zipped in Cabo San Lucas before and had to use my hands to break, but Zipline Through Paradise is worry free, hands free and 100% fun! Our guides were extremely professional, funny and they got us through those lines with efficiency! We felt safe, but also challenged by the lines, some were incredibly long over deep gorges! Our guides made sure to tell us about the different sights to watch out for prior to taking off. We loved every minute of our trip. If you're in Hilo for the day, you must book with these guys, you'll see plenty of waterfalls. All of their facilities are new, clean restrooms throughout. Plus safety was a big concern for me and this company has all new equipment. I felt very confident in the safety of their ziplines and our wonderful guides, see photo.

Thank JBR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you JBR for your awesome review. We work hard to make everything about our zipline the best and safest it can be and we are glad you agree. Our ZipStop automatic magnetic breaking system provides a safe and hands free zipping experience. And our guides are all professionally trained specifically for our course. We are very proud of all of our guides and they do a great job at accommodating guests of every experience and ability. We are very glad that you felt safe on our zipline. Safety is our number one priority and we use only top of the line equipment on our zipline with redundant safety features on all of our lines. Thank you again for your great and detailed review and mahalo for choosing KapohoKine Adventures and Zipline Through Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was an 8 line,dual zipline,soaring above rivers and waterfalls.You can also see whales out in the pacific whilst zipping.The workers where very professional and were great entertainers.We had great fun and will do it again if I have the chance.
We booked this tour through NCL.The company picked us up from Hilo the port of call.The one thing we did not like was the bumpy ride to the start of the zipline. Otherwise it was a thrilling experience,and would recommend it to anyone who would want to do adventurous things on holidays.

Thank Agatha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Aloha Agatha, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your zipline experience with us. Our 8 dual line zipline is a great experience, with tropical canopies, waterfalls, and beautiful views of the island. We are very proud of all our guides and are pleased to hear that they helped make you trip a memorable one. We love being able to show all our cruise ship guests a great time when they visit Hilo. Mahalo from KapohoKine Adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I booked this online a month or 2 before our trip in Oct 2013. Originally we were to go see the Volcano but it was closed due to the government shut down. This company was good enough to change our outing and I'm so glad we did! We stayed on the Kona side, was picked up there and it is an all day trip to the Hilo side but worth it for all the sites you see, and yes it is a little quick but you are covering lots of ground and then can decide if you want to go back on your own to any of those sites (Mauna Kea, Rainbow Falls, Hilo, McKenzie Park, a lava site and many more we couldn't stop at due to the time constraint). They are all wonderful and our guide - Grant - was the best! He answered all our questions with knowledge, professionalism, accommodating and had genuine care for his passengers. And even though he lives on the island, he seemed enthusiastic to extend his knowledge. I would ask for him again and hope he is still there when we return someday! he is an asset to the company. We had a great time with him and seeing everything we did, plus the bar-b-que at the end of the day Grant and his counterpart with another group cooked up at the Painted Church. Be sure to have a light jacket or sweater as it gets cold and possibly rainy on that side of the island. When in Hilo, the tour does stop for a pit stop at their store while he went to get lunch, that was kind of odd but no big deal. It did include lunch and dinner. I would recommend this tour and do it again or another with this company!

Thank Safire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Aloha Safire, we are so glad that you had a great time on tour with us. The government shutdown closing all of the national parks was a bit of an interesting situation for us. We worked hard to modify our tours during the shutdown and are so glad that you had a great time. We do our best to provide the most interesting and enjoyable tours no matter the circumstances, and are glad that our efforts paid off for you. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Grant. Thank you for your review and next time you come and visit we will be here to show you around Volcanoes National Park! Mahalo, KapohoKine Adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I (both 21 yrs old) went on the zip line and volcano tour. They came to pick us up at our hotel in Kialua Kona and drove us all the way to Hilo which was awesome becuase we didn't rent a car. The zip line was amazing! The scenery was gorgeous, the people who worked there were very professional and fun. The volcano tour was not exactly what we were expecting though. We didn't really get to see it up close at all, you view what looks like a tiny fire a mile away. So if you're looking for a really adventurous volcano tour this is not the one you want. Our guide, Conar, was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and outgoing. It helps a lot when your with people you've never met before. Overall the zip line was way worth it but the volcano tour I wouldn't recommend unless you have small children. Be mindful you will walk about 2 miles total. For lava, either find another tour or watch it in HD from your comfy couch.

Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Aloha Dana, thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a great time on our zipline. We are very proud of all our staff and are glad that they helped make your experience memorable. Our evening Volcano Tour is clear that it is not a tour that walks out over lava fields to active lava. Our company does do those tours as well, but at the time you were visiting, there were unfortunately no accessible lava flows on the island. Volcanoes National Park is a beautiful place to visit. From the volcanic craters, Thurston Lava Tube, steam vents, dinner at the park, and the glow from the crater from the Jagger museum at night. We are glad that you had a great time with your guide and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to him. Mahalo from KapohoKine Adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KapohoKine Adventures also viewed

 

Been to KapohoKine Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing