We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow Evening Volcano Explorer with Aaron”

KapohoKine Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bringing the BEST of Hawaii to YOUR adventure! KapohoKine Adventures carries the brands you want like Keen and Salomon shoes, Patagonia rain jackets, and GoPro cameras and accessories. Our downtown Hilo store is an adventure hub. Check out our helicopter, zipline, and volcano tours. We also offer unique tours combining helicopter flights plus zipline and volcano adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow Evening Volcano Explorer with Aaron”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

On January 18, 2013 we took the Evening Volcano Explorer tour with Aaron. What a great time with Aaron he was very knowledgeable on all the stops The Kona Coffee Farm with fresh fruit, coffee tasting and a tour, where we had a nice tasty lunch provided by the tour, a stop at a delicious bakery, the beach where he found us a turtle on shore and then off to the Volcano experience. The lava tube was great and hard to imagine how that was possible. The viewing of the flow field wow. We were then treated to a supper at the Army retreat (great job guys the food was great). Then off to the steam vents (very interesting), night view of the lava (unbelievable) and the museum. Aaron went above and beyond keeping us informed and entertained throughout the trip. Thank you Aaron for an awesome experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha Deborah and thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time on our Evening Volcano Explorer. It's gratifying to hear that Aaron takes care of his guests, and makes the most of the time spent on tour. We will share your comments with Aaron and the rest of the team. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience, and thank you for choosing Hawaii as your vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,425
    129
    23
    12
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All day tour to Volcano Park, coffee farm, bakery”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our tour from Kona to southern part of the Island and to Volcano Park was highlight of our trip. It was so nice to sit back and relax while going over this winding road, especially when it was raining. The stops at the coffee farm, bakery, and Black Sand Beach were awesome. The bakery is very tasty. The glow from the volcano at night is incredible and quite an experience. The lunch and dinner provided were very good. Rob was a wonderful guide, very knowledgable about every aspect of the tour. He provided wonderful insight into the Island and the people. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha Linda, and thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. You've captured the essence of joining an organized tour, versus a self-drive exploration. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself on our Evening Volcano Explorer tour, and love the pictures of the volcano glow and sea turtle! Thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
1 review
“Kona to Rainbow Falls to Volcano Pk. with KapohoKine Adventures”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best tur we had while in Hawaii. Our guide Makai, was knowledgeable & a delight to spend the day with. Thank you again, Makai.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dona46004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha Dona, and thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time on tour with Makai. We are constantly amazed at his depth of knowledge, and attention to his guests needs while on tour. And he does everything with a smile! We will share your comments with Makai and the rest of the team, and look forward to seeing you again here on Hawaii Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Volcano Day”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My party of four spent an incredible day on tour with Grant. He is the embodiment of a fantastic tour guide. Every question was answered, our needs were anticipates and his personality and enthusiasm contagious. It was a memorable day conducted by an extraordinary man. The other guides we met at various stops along the way were of the same caliber.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha Allen, and thank you for sharing your review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time on our Evening Volcano Explorer with Grant. We agree, Grant is pretty awesome. We are also very happy to see that your encounters with our other guides throughout the day resulted in the same positive impression. The entire team really works hard to make sure that all of our guests, whether on their particular tour or not, get the most out of their very valuable time on vacation. We will share your comments with the team, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great volcano explorer day tour”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

On Dec. 5/12 we went on a 9 plus hour tour with Francie as our driver/guide. We were captivated by all the history and info she passed on to us. This day included lunch and dinner. Visiting the Coffee plantation, the volcano crater and lava tube, museum and nite view of volcano glow and the steam vents were all very interesting. We would certainly do something like this again and thoroughly enjoyed our day. This is our first ever trip to Hawaii and we will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha jlvick, and thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Franzi is an awesome guide, always positive and full of information. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time on our Evening Volcano Tour, and we are thrilled that you will be back in Hawaii. We will share your very kind comments with Franzi and the rest of the team, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KapohoKine Adventures also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to KapohoKine Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing