We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Volcano tour advice-do it yourself”

KapohoKine Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bringing the BEST of Hawaii to YOUR adventure! KapohoKine Adventures carries the brands you want like Keen and Salomon shoes, Patagonia rain jackets, and GoPro cameras and accessories. Our downtown Hilo store is an adventure hub. Check out our helicopter, zipline, and volcano tours. We also offer unique tours combining helicopter flights plus zipline and volcano adventures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Volcano tour advice-do it yourself”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My biggest gripe is that this is not a $175 adventure. $75 bucks maybe, but even then I would do it myself next time.

The van-as many say, not very snazzy. Cramped.

Our guide-Rob-was extremely intelligent and new a ton about the island. He was great on the bus, but did little off the bus.

The tour itself-drive took a long time but was mostly entertained by Rob. Stops were 20 minutes pretty everywhere and were basically "go off and do what you want with no guide" stops. Especially disappointing was that we didn't even see the sunset at the volcano. Pictures were tough in the dark. It was very long trip.

Dinner at the country club, not the macadamia nut farm as advertised on the website, was atrocious. Worse than mall food. Lunch was terrible as well, and buy it yourself. The pastries at lunch were pretty good, but I ordered a sandwich and could hardly eat it.

The truth is that there is nothing dangerous about the trip. We did the entire road to hana (including the unpaved backside) and it was scary. So we did not want to do something stressful again. We thought we would see lava "upclose." "Wear closed shoes" is warned on their website. What for? The nonexistent hike or the lava two miles away from the spot anyone can access? There was nothing special about this trip. I wish I had done it myself with my wife.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Aloha Jason G, and mahalo for your review here on TripAdvisor. We've worked long and hard to make several changes to the tour based on guest comments, like yours, including changing our dinner location. There is still no way to safely and legally get up close to the active lava flows, but the volcanic activity that you did witness was less than a half mile away. We are very glad that you called us and allowed us to make things right with you by refunding the money you did pay. We know that our guests time spent on vacation is very precious, and we were very disappointed that our tour didn't live up to your expectations. But thanks to your constructive review the tour is much improved, and we would love to have you give it another try. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back on Hawaii Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    129
    23
    12
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cutting corners takes away from the experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While the sights of the evening volcano tour were outstanding, the cost cutting measures of this tour operator were painful to me. The van was something you would transport lettuce pickers in. Low ceilings, small windows and sardine can seating. Very overtaxed suspension with 14 paseengers. The tour driver looked like he just rolled out of bed, unkempt hair and three days beard growth. He was knowledgable enough, but seemed to be going through the motions. We did cross paths with another group a few times while touring, and their guide seemed more into it and friendly.He actually talked the group out of the nature trail, because he said the footing was dicey, and we could spend more time at the volcano. The snacks offered were cheetos and drinks and a few stale granola bars, we did stop at a nice bakery/deli, but we had to pay retail, and we were ion our own. The included diner was a limited menu affair at a country club, and the food was very blah, and you had to pay extra if you wanted soda or coffee. It was not the Hawaian barbeque their website talks about. Since the access to viewable areas of the volcano are far from the action due to safety, how about bringing some binoculars to share? Next time I'll just drive myself and find my own spot to eat and save a few bucks, hopefuly you will to. It's not that hard to find, and the folks working at the park are very friendly and smart.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TSExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha TS, and thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time on our tour. While we never take 14 guests on tour, and our vans are industry-standard full-size vans, we have worked very hard to address concerns like yours by including lunch and a Kona coffee farm tour, changing the dinner location, and spending more time in the Park. It's a great tour, thanks to feedback like yours, and we would love to see you in Hawaii back to give it a try. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacheco, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour, poor dining experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience on the 9 hour tour of the volcano and our guide, Sand, was incredible. Our dinner at the "country club" was very disappointing. With what we paid for the tour, we expected more than a few pieces of dry chicken and rice on a plate. And then we were told they ran out of dessert. Next time we will stick to touring and not dining.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Janell, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on tour with Sand. She is an awesome guide, full of knowledge and patience. We haven't visited that location very long for dinner, but have heard comments similar to yours. We've searched high and low and finally found a great location that's much improved. We would love to have you back in Hawaii to give it a try. Thanks again for sharing your review with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Ziplining Adventure over Waterfalls!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my first ziplining experience and what I can say is that I felt so safe. The equipment used was of the highest quality and the staff was very knowledgeable. I would definitely do this again and highly recommend. It was seriously one of the greatest moments on the island. The views were fantastic and some of the people we were with had done this all over the world and said it was some of the best compared to their experienced opinions.

Definitely something to check out!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Stephanie, and mahalo for the kind words. We have worked very hard with our friends up at the Outpost to create the Zipline Through Paradise that you enjoyed. It's great for beginners because of the fully automatic safety systems like the magnetic brakes, and also for zip veterans because of the loooooong lines! It's an amazing experience, and we agree with your fellow zippers that this is the BEST zipline experience ever. We would love to see you again here in Hawaii, and thanks again for your review here on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took the "Evening Volcano Explorer" with Makae and we loved it. The tour is great and Makae was super attentive and informative. Too bad we didn't have time to go on other tours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapohokine, Owner at KapohoKine Adventures, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Carina, and mahalo for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time on our Evening Volcano Explorer tour with Makai. Makai is an amazing person in addition to being a great tour guide. We would love to see you back as we've made several changes to the tour that we think makes the tour fantastic and we would love to share it with you. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KapohoKine Adventures also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to KapohoKine Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing